Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2013, 06:53 PM
barrel90 barrel90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cranston
Posts: 21
Default firewire and connection issues

Hi,
I'm new to Pro Tools and also bought the Tascam DM-4800 mixer.
I'm having a lot of issues trying to buss back & forth to PT from the board via firewire. I'm running PT-10 on a custom made PC. The PC came with a Rosewill PCIe 1394b Card 3 Ports Model RC-506E. Does anyone know if this card is the reason I'm having issues?
Thanks in advance for any info you can share.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2013, 07:08 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,385
Default Re: firewire and connection issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by barrel90 View Post
Hi,
I'm new to Pro Tools and also bought the Tascam DM-4800 mixer.
I'm having a lot of issues trying to buss back & forth to PT from the board via firewire. I'm running PT-10 on a custom made PC. The PC came with a Rosewill PCIe 1394b Card 3 Ports Model RC-506E. Does anyone know if this card is the reason I'm having issues?
Thanks in advance for any info you can share.
That PCIe card a TI chipset firewire card so hopefully should be OK.

What *exact* problems are you having? What do you mean by "busing back and forth"--what exactly are you trying to do? Is the mixer working at all a Firewire interface for Pro Tools?

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2013, 09:26 PM
barrel90 barrel90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cranston
Posts: 21
Default Re: firewire and connection issues

I want to use Pro Tools like a tape recorder and mix via my DM-4800. For some reason my board won't route channels into PT. i.e. If I want to buss channel 1 from the board to track 8 on pro tools, it's not happening. Also I'm not seeing the time code on my board. Lastly, PT is only sending L/R to channels 25 & 26 on my board. I want each track to be sent to individual channels on my board. Not sure if that's an I/O problem or if firewire is screwing up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2013, 11:08 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,385
Default Re: firewire and connection issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by barrel90 View Post
I want to use Pro Tools like a tape recorder and mix via my DM-4800. For some reason my board won't route channels into PT. i.e. If I want to buss channel 1 from the board to track 8 on pro tools, it's not happening. Also I'm not seeing the time code on my board. Lastly, PT is only sending L/R to channels 25 & 26 on my board. I want each track to be sent to individual channels on my board. Not sure if that's an I/O problem or if firewire is screwing up.
The Firewire won't be "screwing up", it will either work or it won't.

There is a significant amount of configuration/setup involve to get all this working, and my assumption would be if there is a problem its likely something you are doing there. What setup instructions are you following? Tascam documentation is at http://tascam.com/product/dm-4800/downloads/ also I noticed this http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...t9-and-higher/

Seeing time code on the mixer meter bridge? I'm not even sure that is connected as a part of HUI to Pro Tools? Anybody know if it is? I believe the meters themselves are not, they are just plumbed to the physical outputs IIRC. Hopefully somebody with a 3200 or 4800 here will know for sure.

I suspect you may also want to ask your questions over on the DM-4800 forum at http://www.tascamforums.com/viewforum.php?f=28

Darryl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Euphonix Mix Connection Issues mikenewport Artist Series 27 05-18-2013 06:13 AM
Firewire connection issues Funkey1 macOS 6 07-05-2012 07:41 PM
Connection issues charraig 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-17-2011 04:50 PM
UPS/USB connection issues Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-03-2005 04:15 PM
002 firewire connection issues xSHANNONX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 06-29-2004 07:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com