Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2011, 08:55 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Lost connection

Guys, I've lost the ethernet connection between the G5, network hub and the console, and I can't get it back. I've unplugged everything, power-cycled everything and tried to enable ethernet again in the peripherals dialog. No dice.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2011, 08:59 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Lost connection

I have Vienna Ensemble Pro installed on both the G5 and the Westmere, and that setup works, and everything goes through the HP Procurve network hub.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2011, 10:21 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Lost connection

Yeah, power-cycled everything except the console! Talk about performing under pressure. (note to self: calm down)

The upside is that I had to work a couple hours without the console, and it was plain torture. Slow, slow, slow. I appreciate the investment that much more now.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2011, 07:43 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Lost connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
The upside is that I had to work a couple hours without the console, and it was plain torture. Slow, slow, slow. I appreciate the investment that much more now.


You ok now Stig ? Everything up and running again ?

Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-13-2011, 08:39 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Lambrechts View Post


You ok now Stig ? Everything up and running again ?

Chris
Yeah, I'm all good now. Thanks.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2012, 12:27 PM
musclepants musclepants is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Lost connection

Hey guys,

I have the same problem. I upgraded to PT 10.0.0 & lost the ethernet connection to the ICON. I've power cycled everything, including the ethernet hub, but the main & fader unit on the ICON will still not show up on the peripherals menu in PT.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Mac Pro
OSX 10.6.8
Original ICON
XMON
2 x 96 i/o
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-13-2012, 01:17 PM
Soundtrack Soundtrack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 142
Default Re: Lost connection

Not sure or this could help you, but do you check the right ethernet socket under "peripherals" , because the powermac has 2 sockets..??

Grz,


Louis
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-13-2012, 01:35 PM
musclepants musclepants is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Lost connection

Louis,

Thanks for the response. Yes, I did check the correct ethernet port. I've tried going into both ethernet ports, with & without the ethernet hub.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-13-2012, 03:19 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Lost connection

I lose connection about once a month or so, and a power-cycle fixes it every time. That is, I have a routine that I always follow. Probably not necessary, but it works for me:
  1. Peripherals > Disable ethernet controllers
  2. Quit PT, and power-cycle the D-Command
  3. Reboot the G5
  4. Launch PT
  5. Peripherals > Enable ethernet controllers
  6. All good again!
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 002 Lost connection-Help Please! Bantom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-31-2012 12:29 PM
Lost connection to Mix and Control musikrolf Artist Series 9 05-23-2012 07:34 AM
Lost MIDI connection manyrains Virtual Instruments 3 07-06-2008 08:38 PM
Lost Connection 6figgas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-16-2006 12:09 AM
Digi 002 lost connection Keniko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-19-2005 01:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com