Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 02-09-2011, 05:02 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

Then, wow, what a cool, simple idea. Digi should've made those years ago. I have consecutive PCI slots, so I'm good.
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 02-09-2011, 05:03 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

I started this thread looking for a good setup, and the one I built is smokin'!!!
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 02-10-2011, 04:19 PM
Parisstudio Parisstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 322
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

I might need one of these cables, where can I get one? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 02-12-2011, 09:49 AM
lydarkitekten lydarkitekten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 2
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by breakie View Post
Hi Ray,

indeed you have to watch out for the pci slots!!!
they have to be next to each other if you are planning on using more then 1 protools card! (otherwise the flexcable will be too short)

As stated in my earlier post, I'm running on an x58 (1366) chipset.
The Gigabyte board I tried was not very stable with more then 8 Gigs of ram...
The Asus PT6 Deluxe 2 has no problems!

Another thing to consider is your graphics card!
Mine (ati5850) is 2 slots wide and if inserted in the first pci-e it covers the first pci slot...
BUT lucky for me, it also works in the last two slot

Hope this helps.

PS I originally switched from a MAC G4 (for the same reason as you) to a Supermicro Mobo (server) PC and updated that one this week...
Hello/HELP!!!

Im now in the same position you have been in... I have been running my pci-x HD2 system 192 i/o on a Mac G5. My mac died, and "they" want me to buy a new mac and HD2 system pcie for $15 000. I´v had my system for five years, but feel that it should last longer, when it still has alot of working power/dsp. I have buildt a pc.
question:

My system is windows 7 (64 bit), i7 , and my mobo is asus P6T WS with two PCI-X slots, 12 GB Ram.
Graphic card: Nvidia fx 580 (Avid approved)

My problem is that after installation of pro tools 9 HD, the system cannot find the core card. the driver dont whant to work!!!:-/

Is there a connection between my problem with the core card beeing pci-x, and that my system is 64 bit?

Is there someting Im missing?

You have suceeded with your setup, do you have any idees for me?

Best regards KRM
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 02-13-2011, 02:15 AM
Ghengis Ghengis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brisbane, QLD Australia
Posts: 132
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

Hi,

Win 7x64 shouldn't cause any grief.

You've got the workstation version of the same MB that I do (P6T Deluxe). I did have to wind my bios back one version to get around a similar problem that you had.

Other things to try, Avid want you to use a very specific Quadro driver - are you running that version?

Also, what happens if you change the slot order of the cards ie switch them around. This may help. Can you get it to work with the core card in any of the slots? (including both the PCI and PCI-X slots) get it working, then add the accel card once you are running.

cya
Ghengis
__________________
Intel I7-930
Asus P6T-Deluxe V2
6gig Triple Channel 1600mhz
HD2 PCI, 96 I/O, Command-8
Win7x64
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 02-13-2011, 01:36 PM
Bob Nagy Bob Nagy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 111
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parisstudio View Post
I might need one of these cables, where can I get one? Thanks
Anybody who is interested can contact me directly. My contact info is in my resume/profile.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 02-22-2011, 05:15 PM
dubrichie dubrichie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 77
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghengis View Post
Other things to try, Avid want you to use a very specific Quadro driver - are you running that version?

cya
Ghengis
Ghengis,

i use an nVidia Quadro NVS 440 with PTHD 7.4 on Win XP.

soon i will be updating to PTHD 9 on Win 7 x64.

can you please point me to a link to this info from Avid about the driver for my gfx card?

many thanks,
__________________
regards,

richie.

"a paradigm of restraint and good taste at a time of frequent excess"
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 02-23-2011, 06:30 AM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

Regarding the video driver, I think this is the page.

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=380587
__________________
Third Eye Studios.org
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 02-25-2011, 07:30 AM
painz painz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

I'm running a HD2 PCI(core + process) on the ASUS P5B.
sure, processing well with win7.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 02-25-2011, 10:35 AM
dubrichie dubrichie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 77
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

thanks for the link Third Eye.

but i'm a bit baffled by it, because that driver is from 2009 and is for Win XP.

i think i'll try the most recent one for Win 7 first and if i have problems i'll give that old one a whirl.

Digi / Avid have ALWAYS been WAY behind the curve when it comes to qualifying Windows hardware and drivers.
__________________
regards,

richie.

"a paradigm of restraint and good taste at a time of frequent excess"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 7.4 with new motherboard and processor KGB2011 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 09-01-2009 07:37 AM
Help!!!! Motherboard and Processor Obscene Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-07-2006 10:46 AM
Help!!!! Motherboard and Processor Obscene 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-07-2006 10:37 AM
new motherboard and processor abel quintanilla 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-22-2005 07:45 AM
motherboard processor help 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-25-2001 05:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com