Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #231  
Old 12-20-2009, 02:36 AM
kirkgale kirkgale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: korea
Posts: 71
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Hi 3rd Eye...(thnx for the input)

based on which I reverted to my pre 8.0.3 card order (identical to yours) w/out however the 2nd Accel card in the non-x PCI slot.

and its stable..! HD2 w/ Omnisphere, Strike...

wish I could access some info re that PCI Latency Timer in the Supermicro BIOS (mine currently set @ 64)...will have to test whether increase/decrease helps to get this wonderful stability even w/ that extra card/slot powered up...
__________________
kirk
Reply With Quote
  #232  
Old 12-20-2009, 06:43 AM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

I'm glad it's working stable for you. Too bad it's not stable with all the cards.

I'm not going to be at the studio until tomorrow to verify my the PCI latency timer settings for you. Let me know if you find a setting that works. We'll be shopping for a third card soon.
__________________
Third Eye Studios.org
Reply With Quote
  #233  
Old 12-21-2009, 03:53 AM
kirkgale kirkgale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: korea
Posts: 71
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Hmmm 3rd Eye...

we gotta fix this prob otherwise, how r u gonna be brave 'nuf to buy a 2nd accel card for that Supermicro board...?

I played around w/ diff PCI Latency Timer settings in the BIOS today (from the default? 64 up to 96 and down to 32 but in none of those 3 settings was PT free from a "not responding" error for more than 3 or 4 minutes (e.g., loading or unloading a VI plug will trigger it)...

while as soon as I remove that 3rd card and use only the PCI-x slots, no crashes...

you know, I picked this board back in Feb when 8.0 was new but maybe since then there's 'nother i7 board out there w 3 contiguous PCI-x slots..?
__________________
kirk
Reply With Quote
  #234  
Old 12-21-2009, 04:45 AM
kirkgale kirkgale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: korea
Posts: 71
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

searced the web for 30 min and found no 3 pci-x contiguous slot boards for the i7 (although I found 3 contiguous regular pci slot boards for the i7 but not ready to go there yet)...

next step may be to email tech support @ supermicro to inquire what BIOS settings they may recommend in this situation...
__________________
kirk
Reply With Quote
  #235  
Old 12-21-2009, 06:18 AM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:
we gotta fix this prob otherwise, how r u gonna be brave 'nuf to buy a 2nd accel card for that Supermicro board...?
I know. I wonder what Supermicro would have to say about it. We might just have to stay at HD2. We could at least upgrade to HD Accel, as we're non-Accel right now.

When I did a search for MB's a few weeks ago, the Supermicro was it for PCIX.

Feel free to cantact me via email. DanaSampson [at] Thirdeyestudios [dot] org. If you'd like we could chat off of the forum and post back any solutions.

Dana
__________________
Third Eye Studios.org
Reply With Quote
  #236  
Old 12-22-2009, 08:20 AM
pm mastering studio pm mastering studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lebbeke , Belgium
Posts: 104
Wink Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

some info on the ASUS P7P55D Mobo :
-------------------------------------
I7 860 CPU
8GB RAM (Kinstong 1333mhz 4 x 2GB)
Samsung 150 GB VeloRaptor (10.000 rpm) - Boot
Samsung 1TB (Samples and storage)
Samsung 350 GB VeloRaptor (10.000rpm) Recording/projects
Asus EN86000 GT Silence

Installed Windows 7 Ultimatex64
ProTools HD8.03
Massive Pack 7
Waves 7.r4 Mercury + SSL400
NI Komplete 6
BrainWorx Complete
Celemony Editor DNA
BFD2
Superiour Drummer 2

HD3 Accel card

I'm a bit dissepointed with loadtimes (up to 10 minutes). on my QuadZilla it took about the same time to fully load PT (could take about 10 minutes due to waves)
With this mean machine I hoped this would be reduced enormously - unfortunatly it stays the same. It takes loooooooong time until my Waves Mercury plugins are loaded which sometimes make me believe it has crashed.
Even a setup without waves takes up to about 5 minutes.

As soon all is running first impressions are ok. Looks stable. Although it take time to load a plugin into the insert-slot (also the case with previous setup as soon as I swithced to 8.0).

I hope I can find some time tonight to start testing the whole thing on some real recordings.

One thing is great - I now have enormous CPU power !!!! whohooooooooooo

I'll keep y'all posted


PS. Important tip : when using windows 7 U have to disable the user-safety thingy (UserAccountControl) . ProTools always needs to be runned as administrator to work !!!


Philippe
__________________
Philippe Meiresonne
(Belgium)

http://www.pm-mastering-studio.com
SYSTEM HDX MAC
ProTools HD 2018.1 | 1HDX Card | MacPro 6 Core 32GB Ram PCIe 512GB TrashCan|Magma Thunderbold EB3T|2x PRE | 96 | 192 I/O | HD I/0 16/16
Midi I/O | D-Command ES +16 fader Pack | Xmon

SYSTEM 02
Mac OS 10.10.x |MacBook Pro | 16GB RAM |Mbox 2 Pro Factory | Rack003+ Factory
Reply With Quote
  #237  
Old 12-26-2009, 06:33 AM
undergroundcubby undergroundcubby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 66
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

I have a HD3 PCI accel and also want to get up on the i7 spec.

I am about to build a system (having always used HP XW's in the past)

So any thoughts on mobos to use I will investigate and gladly guinea pig it.

Hit me up with suggestions and lets see if we can find a solution (just not prepared to Digi crossgrade for same spec system!)

Cheers
__________________
HD 3 Accel PCI
HP XW9300
192 I/O
Midi I/O
Reply With Quote
  #238  
Old 12-26-2009, 07:43 AM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Finding a MB for an i7 with 3 consecutive PCI slots is hard. Digi user "kirkgale" and I are currently both using the Supermicro X8SAX. It runs a HD2 great, but kirkgale is having issues with Pro Tools not responding with his 3rd HD card installed. He's currently working with Supermicro to find a solution.
__________________
Third Eye Studios.org
Reply With Quote
  #239  
Old 12-26-2009, 07:47 AM
undergroundcubby undergroundcubby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 66
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pm mastering studio View Post
some info on the ASUS P7P55D Mobo :
-------------------------------------
I7 860 CPU
8GB RAM (Kinstong 1333mhz 4 x 2GB)
Samsung 150 GB VeloRaptor (10.000 rpm) - Boot
Samsung 1TB (Samples and storage)
Samsung 350 GB VeloRaptor (10.000rpm) Recording/projects
Asus EN86000 GT Silence

Installed Windows 7 Ultimatex64
ProTools HD8.03
Massive Pack 7
Waves 7.r4 Mercury + SSL400
NI Komplete 6
BrainWorx Complete
Celemony Editor DNA
BFD2
Superiour Drummer 2

HD3 Accel card

I'm a bit dissepointed with loadtimes (up to 10 minutes). on my QuadZilla it took about the same time to fully load PT (could take about 10 minutes due to waves)
With this mean machine I hoped this would be reduced enormously - unfortunatly it stays the same. It takes loooooooong time until my Waves Mercury plugins are loaded which sometimes make me believe it has crashed.
Even a setup without waves takes up to about 5 minutes.

As soon all is running first impressions are ok. Looks stable. Although it take time to load a plugin into the insert-slot (also the case with previous setup as soon as I swithced to 8.0).

I hope I can find some time tonight to start testing the whole thing on some real recordings.

One thing is great - I now have enormous CPU power !!!! whohooooooooooo

I'll keep y'all posted


PS. Important tip : when using windows 7 U have to disable the user-safety thingy (UserAccountControl) . ProTools always needs to be runned as administrator to work !!!


Philippe
Hi, Any joy with tests on this board yet? The supermicro looks OK and they are a rock solid brand, just interested with HD3 PCI on this, cheers
__________________
HD 3 Accel PCI
HP XW9300
192 I/O
Midi I/O
Reply With Quote
  #240  
Old 12-28-2009, 03:48 AM
pm mastering studio pm mastering studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lebbeke , Belgium
Posts: 104
Default Re: Best Systems and Components for Win HD/TDM

at the nmoment having some minor issues with Wave plugins (see other threads). Also going to switch the Nvidia for an ATI GPU.

all the rest is working Great ! No issues with HD3 setup
__________________
Philippe Meiresonne
(Belgium)

http://www.pm-mastering-studio.com
SYSTEM HDX MAC
ProTools HD 2018.1 | 1HDX Card | MacPro 6 Core 32GB Ram PCIe 512GB TrashCan|Magma Thunderbold EB3T|2x PRE | 96 | 192 I/O | HD I/0 16/16
Midi I/O | D-Command ES +16 fader Pack | Xmon

SYSTEM 02
Mac OS 10.10.x |MacBook Pro | 16GB RAM |Mbox 2 Pro Factory | Rack003+ Factory
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are these pc components ok? chazc080488 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 08-13-2010 11:20 AM
need help with HD components FMR_Crisis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 04-17-2010 05:07 PM
What components lie in the most POWERFUL native PTLE Systems? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-28-2008 07:18 AM
Will these PC components do the job hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-06-2007 08:22 PM
components rems 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-19-2001 09:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com