Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2005, 11:25 PM
waterbug waterbug is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 15
Default SATA Drives

OK PC experts. Does Pro Tools 6.9 support SATA drives connected to Serial ATA IDE connection on the motherboard? Building a new system and just want to make sure it's configured correctly.

Waterbug
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2005, 04:11 AM
bb_aus bb_aus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,689
Default Re: SATA Drives

works fine for me
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2005, 06:57 AM
mkosacek mkosacek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 325
Default Re: SATA Drives

me too
__________________
Pro Tools 12.4 (because 12.5 is unusable)
UAD Apollo 16 (v8.6)
Dell Inspiron 660 (i3-3240)
Win10 x64
www.studiodrumtracks.com
www.doubledogrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:21 AM
Carl Fuehrer's Avatar
Carl Fuehrer Carl Fuehrer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,345
Default Re: SATA Drives

I have 2 of the WD 74Gb Raptors and a Seagate SATA II drive in my system and I will never go back! With the native command queing (NCQ) spec on your host card or mobo (SATA II) you can achieve near 10,000RPN performance fron the 7200RPM drive
__________________
Peace,

Carl Fuehrer

Pulsar Audio Lab
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2005, 01:02 PM
digi-mike digi-mike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
Default Re: SATA Drives

I have two SATA drives and they work great!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2005, 02:40 PM
koldbludded koldbludded is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
Default Re: SATA Drives

Got two SATA's and two standard HD's.

Works great!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-09-2005, 03:18 PM
crookedtourguy crookedtourguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Akron area, Ohio USA
Posts: 206
Default Re: SATA Drives

Two SATA drives and two IDE ATA-100 drives (one is my native the other is in a tray and is used as a back-up drive), is what I have been using for a while.
However, I, too, am about to change over to one 74 Gb WD Raptor 10K RPM drive to use as my native drive and a 300 Gb Seagate SATA that uses NCQ as my record drive, just like Carl mentioned ... I hear it is the only way to go. I will be going to this set-up around this time next week.
I am also going to use a 200 Gb Maxtor ATA-133 in a mobile rack as my back-up drive (I also back-up onto DVD's ... sure hope the price of dual layer DVD comes down soon though), and the SATA audio/record drive is also in a mobile rack tray. The two SATA drives I mentioned earlier are in trays, too ... they were the original drives in my system.
__________________
were humans involved ... if so, I can believe almost anything!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-10-2005, 12:26 PM
thesteve2 thesteve2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: SATA Drives

Has anyone tried SATA with a Digi 001 setup? I'm building a new pc in a few days and trying to figure out which type of hard drive to go with.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2005, 03:17 PM
mkosacek mkosacek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 325
Default Re: SATA Drives

I had the same SATA drives with my DIGI 001 before I went to the 002R.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.4 (because 12.5 is unusable)
UAD Apollo 16 (v8.6)
Dell Inspiron 660 (i3-3240)
Win10 x64
www.studiodrumtracks.com
www.doubledogrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2005, 10:40 PM
thesteve2 thesteve2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: SATA Drives

Cool. Thanks for the info.

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA vs IDE drives with PT 7.4 Mark Peteritas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 06-12-2008 08:42 AM
sata and ide drives mdd0127 Storage Subsystems 1 03-13-2006 10:10 AM
Do SATA Controllers/ PCI Cards/ SATA Drives work.. Jason Robo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-14-2005 07:23 PM
Anyone using SATA Drives? joamoa2 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 03-16-2005 07:49 PM
SATA Drives?? ozzymau 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-21-2004 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com