Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2004, 11:05 AM
NY909 NY909 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 130
Default mixing in the box with ACCEL better than MIX?

Ok, I know alot of discussions exist about this, but I have a very specific question I'm hoping some of you guys can offer your opinions about...

Put aside the better converters and the extra processing power of HD ACCEL for a second. Is there a very noticeable difference when mixing in the box between ACCEL and MIX? Has anyone actually bounced the same exact mix in both systems and compared?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2004, 12:11 PM
Camilo Orozco's Avatar
Camilo Orozco Camilo Orozco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Toluca, Mexico
Posts: 969
Default Re: mixing in the box with ACCEL better than MIX?

Should be the same. You are using the same "engine".
__________________
Camilo Orozco
Like us on www.facebook.com/artedigitalestudio
www.estudiodegrabacion.com.mx
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2004, 03:26 PM
Steve MacMillan Steve MacMillan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 2,038
Default Re: mixing in the box with ACCEL better than MIX?

The main difference as I understand it is, when your mix spans more than one mixer chip, the path from the 2nd or more mixer chips to the 'master' mixer chip is 48 bits. Where as in a Mix system, each additional chip gets truncated to 24 bits (with or without dither depending on which mixer you use). Also the system clocking is better with HD, which I don't really know if it affects internally bounced mixes. When I upgraded from mix to Accel I had mixes that I had just printed with my Mix system that I reprinted with my HD (AES to MasterLink) and there was a subtle but noticeable improvement. Better yes but not night and day.

sm
__________________
macmandigital.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2004, 06:03 PM
Extreme Mixing Extreme Mixing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Van Nuys, CA. USA
Posts: 1,329
Default Re: mixing in the box with ACCEL better than MIX?

SM,

You should go back and see it the mixes cancel out, or not. After all, if you mixed and made it sound exactly the way you thought it should on a Mix system, some might think it out of line for the machine to arbitrarily make "changes" for you. The next time around, the changes may sound worse since they would be totally random in nature. I wouldn't really think of that as a feature. Or maybe it's just me...

Steve
__________________
Steve Shepherd
Extreme Mixing
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2004, 07:16 PM
Steve MacMillan Steve MacMillan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 2,038
Default Re: mixing in the box with ACCEL better than MIX?

It would have been interesting to print something without the random stuff like reverb and LFO's before I upgraded and then compared. I made the switch in one evening and comparing complete mixes was the best I could do. You could definitely hear the difference without knowing which was which.

sm
__________________
macmandigital.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2004, 10:41 AM
Allan Speers Allan Speers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 1,277
Default Re: mixing in the box with ACCEL better than MIX?

Steve is correct about the bridging chip, though this probably won't make a significant sonic difference except under extreme circumstances.

A more important improvement is simply in overall headroom. HD's headroom was drastically improved, (according to Digidesign) so it's now virtually impossible to clip the "summing section." If a summing aux is overloading, you can simply pull-down it's fader untl the red goes away, and no matter how far down you pull it, you will still have headroom. This does indeed seem to work. Also, on really hot 2-mixes, transients tend to sound cleaner (I tTHINK. Never actually did an A-B test, though.)

On Mix systems, if you keep all your faders low, this is not much of a factor, but if you tend to push your levels, this is a very big deal.

Last: I've read posts where people claim the aux sends are now truly 48 bit. I can't verify that, but it could be true. Again, this would be a VERY small sonic improvement, possibly not even audible.

-But it all adds up.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2004, 10:55 AM
Kenshiro Kenshiro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 153
Default Re: mixing in the box with ACCEL better than MIX?

I don't exactly can technically explain but it's a matter of fact that with HD my mixes are much easier to do now than before with MIX. It's sounds much better now; I don't use much 3rd party plugins besides Digidesign plugs except when working with other systems not mine (most of the times I work with what I find on the computer of the studio), but I found that now I use much less plugs that before to do a good mix. And the plugs I use sounds better than MIX plugs.

Maybe it's my impression but my ear says it sounds better!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD3 accel Mixing problem ilulilu888 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 10-09-2012 12:21 PM
Mixing PCIe and PCI accel cards BilboMcP Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 11-27-2009 04:49 AM
HD 3 Accel PCIe = 2 Accel Core + 1 HD Accel???? Eduardo Apolonia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 24 08-04-2007 02:20 PM
Runing Accel plugs on the "Accel PCIe core DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-19-2005 10:25 PM
HD Process to Accel Exchange vs. Mix to Accel Exch Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-20-2004 04:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com