Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2003, 06:28 PM
ozinga ozinga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 122
Default PT, leave my drives alone!!

Hello all.
I don't know if there is a solution for this.If I mount a firewire or usb drive when protools is running,I can't unmount back because protools won't let it go!I have to quit PT in order to do it.Sometimes I use pocket usb drives to move stuff between computers and this is really annoying.Protools writes some database stuff to these drives and I think thats the reason.Is there anyway to stop PT to take control over these drives and network drives somehow?
OSX.2.6 HD3 PT6.1
Oz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2003, 06:36 PM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: PT, leave my drives alone!!

I don't know of any way to exclude certain drives, but I do know that if you go to the workspace browser, you can unmount a drive from within PT. Just select the drive and go to the toolbox menu in the upper left corner and select "unmount". Have fun.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2003, 07:26 PM
David Schober David Schober is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Brentwood, TN, USA
Posts: 220
Default Re: PT, leave my drives alone!!

I hate this too. However, I'm thinking it's a Mac OSX thing. Does this happen to anyone running Logic or DP?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2003, 09:18 PM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,453
Default Re: PT, leave my drives alone!!

it is really not that big a deal to unmount the drive in the workspace window
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2003, 11:22 PM
kmshroom kmshroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: PT, leave my drives alone!!

Quote:
I hate this too. However, I'm thinking it's a Mac OSX thing.
no, it's not. it's a DigiBase thing (and DigiBase does the same on WinXP too, further proof it's not an OSX thing).
__________________
you cannot find peace by avoiding life
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2003, 09:16 AM
Natural Sound Natural Sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 695
Default Re: PT, leave my drives alone!!

TOMCAT has the correct answer.
When PT is running you should never do anything related to the session from the Finder. All work should be done in the Workspace Browser.
And just to elaborate- In the Workspace browser, just hilite the drive and select UNMOUNT from the submenu.
I do wish there was a key command for this however.
__________________
Thomas Anthony
Natural Sound
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2003, 09:25 AM
Noiz2 Noiz2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Detroit MI & SF CA
Posts: 1,989
Default Re: PT, leave my drives alone!!

Quote:
TOMCAT has the correct answer.
When PT is running you should never do anything related to the session from the Finder. All work should be done in the Workspace Browser.
It is still not the way it should be. Digi should not take over your whole system, it's not a requirement for smooth operation. There are plenty of more data/ disk intensive programs and even ones that do extensive file management that don't have this rude behavior.
__________________
www.scottkouesound.com
SK
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2003, 10:04 AM
Kenshiro Kenshiro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 153
Default Re: PT, leave my drives alone!!

Yes it's very frustrating. I usually do back and forth with a firewire drive between two Mac (one dubbing and the other one syncing) and under OS9 /PT 5.3 I simply unmounted the disk from Finder.

Now I have to unmount from DigiBase under OSX/PT6.
Very annoying! Digi should change this or at least create a Keyboard Shortcut in DigiBase; CMD+Y like the old "put away" command (if not used from other shortcut) would be fine.

I hope it will be changed soon!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-02-2003, 12:34 PM
BothMan BothMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 251
Default Re: PT, leave my drives alone!!

Whats the big deal, sheesh. To gain the functionality from digibase, Pro Tools has to know that the drive is there. Go to the workspace window and unmount the disk. Simple.
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
leave MBox run? DAPianist Pro Tools 10 3 04-30-2013 05:40 AM
Take it or Leave it? johnpaulgeorgeringo Pro Tools 10 4 10-22-2011 11:54 AM
is it okay to leave my c|24 on koldice ICON & C|24 11 02-20-2009 04:59 AM
Turn it off or leave it on?? C24 ajazzie ICON & C|24 3 09-15-2007 01:41 PM
Why-O-Why-O did I ever leave ThunderKyss General Discussion 97 08-10-2002 12:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com