Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-18-2016, 03:11 PM

Default What the absolute beginners PT set-up these days?

What's the least expensive, lowest end set-up for me to get my 10 year-old grandaughter so she can start recording herself. I may be overshooting, but 1) she's really got "it" (not just proud grandpa talking), and 2) I don't really want to mess with having to learn how to use Garageband or Audacity myself were I to get her going in something like that. I'm thinking the cheapest M-box thingy or whatever it is these days, show her mother to get into sessions, and may as well get her started right. They've got a 3 year-old PC available to use. Don't have the specs but she's supposed to be sending that info. Realistic? Or too much trouble? BTW, my daughter has a decent digital piano she can use for controller, and I'll get her a mic.
Old 12-18-2016, 03:21 PM

Default Re: What the absolute beginners PT set-up these days?

10 year old... you already named it. Garage Band. She can teach you how to use it if you have problems And she would probably love that she can work on a simple portable iPad. Lots of reasobable interface options that work there and on Mac and PC. Apogee would be my first stop if using an iPad.

3 Year old PC, Have them send you a Ssndra report. That is likely a good intro to them using and needing to support Pro Tools.

What is your budget? Pro Tools First is a waste of space. Pro Tools Standard and an interface will cost you ~$1k plus a mic etc. Buy her an iPad and small interface and mic and she will be much better off, and can use the iPad for much more.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-18-2016 at 03:33 PM.
Old 12-18-2016, 03:57 PM