Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2011, 12:16 PM
Sonic Blue Meanie Sonic Blue Meanie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 77
Default Powered USB hub issue

I'm chasing an issue with a high pitched noise I get when PT starts up with my mbox2. I've read the issue might be solved by using a powered usb hub instead uf the usb connections on my imac.

I bought a 4-port Kensington hub and connected the mbox2 to it and from there to the imac. Now Protools appears to open but will not play, neither will itunes. When I hook it back the way I had it, still get the noise, but all works fine.

When I go back and reconnect the Kensington, I get the following error message-
"PT cannot communicate with the mbox2. Please make sure the mbox2 is connected and not set to AC-3 mode. I checked prefferences and AC-3 is not checked and it says the mbox2 is connected. I've searched the issue but not finding anything."

and...

"PT could not set sample rate to specified value"

Any ideas?
__________________
Mac OS High Sierra
Version 10.13.6
3.5 GHz Inte Core i5
8 GB
Protools First/Scarlett 2i4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2011, 01:09 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Powered USB hub issue

From Digi:

"Mbox is designed to work on a single, dedicated USB port build into your computer. We do not support its use on any hubs, adapters, expansion cards, or the USB port on the side of your USB keyboard."
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2011, 08:45 PM
Sonic Blue Meanie Sonic Blue Meanie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 77
Default Re: Powered USB hub issue

Really? Very interesting. I guess that leads to my next question, which is anyone else experience a this, low volume, high pitch noise when protools boots up? And if so what can be done about it?
__________________
Mac OS High Sierra
Version 10.13.6
3.5 GHz Inte Core i5
8 GB
Protools First/Scarlett 2i4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-Powered Protools 8 issue Windows 7 Devastationdynasty Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 11 08-22-2011 03:59 AM
Protool M-Powered Midi Issue levarv Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 03-22-2011 10:29 AM
M-Powered and EZdrummer issue Mad Genius Audio Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 10-24-2008 06:20 AM
FXPansion PT M-Powered 7.1 issue shultzee13 Virtual Instruments 3 05-29-2008 02:41 PM
96khz Issue (also affects M-Powered) creator 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-01-2007 11:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com