Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2008, 11:11 AM
Jonothon77 Jonothon77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 62
Default Question about using more than 4 mic\'s with 003 factory

I'm considering getting a digi 003 control surface to temporarily replace my mixer which is going to take a while to repair. I'll obviously need more than 4 mic inputs, so I'm interested in any feedback regarding using any adat optical 8 channel to augment the 4 mic pre's and line-ins of the 003. How's the Focusrite MH435 Platinum OctoPre? any other suggestions?

by the way, i'm thinking of using 4 line in's for my 2 neve mic pre's, avalon 737 and Voxbox. for the next 8, i'll use the external adat optical interface (whichever i decide on) and then the 4 003 pre's (which i hear are not so good?), presumably giving me up to 16 inputs for a live band.

Will this all work well with LE? I'd love any feedback regarding this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2008, 11:18 AM
dougied dougied is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Omahaha, Nebraska, U.S.A.
Posts: 609
Default Re: Question about using more than 4 mic\'s with 003 factory

The adat 8 channel mic pres work very well. I have the cheaper Behringer ada8000 and their mic pres sound better than my 002s. I read that if you get the Octopre you'll need one of their little cards to add to it to make it work. The Presonus Digimax FS, LT, and also the M-Audio Octane are really good too. They are all pretty much just plug in and play.

It does work with LE and with no problems.

Cheers!
-doug
__________________
Mac Pro Dual Quad 2.8Ghz 2008
MacBook Pro i7 2012
OSX 10.8.5 - OSX 10.7.5
Pro Tools 10.3.7 - 11.1.2
6GB RAM
Universal Audio Apollo Quad!!!
Eleven Rack
Focusrite Octopre MKII
Yamaha HS80s
Rockit RP5 Monitors w/ RP10 sub
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2008, 11:24 AM
kidbazooka kidbazooka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
Default Re: Question about using more than 4 mic\'s with 003 factory

Quote:
I'm considering getting a digi 003 control surface to temporarily replace my mixer which is going to take a while to repair. I'll obviously need more than 4 mic inputs, so I'm interested in any feedback regarding using any adat optical 8 channel to augment the 4 mic pre's and line-ins of the 003. How's the Focusrite MH435 Platinum OctoPre? any other suggestions?

by the way, i'm thinking of using 4 line in's for my 2 neve mic pre's, avalon 737 and Voxbox. for the next 8, i'll use the external adat optical interface (whichever i decide on) and then the 4 003 pre's (which i hear are not so good?), presumably giving me up to 16 inputs for a live band.

Will this all work well with LE? I'd love any feedback regarding this.
I prefer the Audient 008 w their ADAT interface option. The mic pres sound much better (cleaner, faster) than any of the Presonus or Focusrite Octopre that I have tried. Cost is higher though. Works flawlessly with my 002 via ADAT.
__________________
Hrdw: Mac Pro 3.3gHz 6-core (2012) 32gb RAM, Digi002 w Blk Lion mod, 2 UAD2 Quads, Dynaudio BM5A, KRK 10S, Sftw: 10.8.5, 10.3.7, Pres: Chandler TG2, A-Designs Pacifica, Focusrite Red 8, UA 2-610, Aurora GTQ2, Audient 008, Mics: Peluso 2247SE, P67 and P12, Gefell M295, R121, RE20, 4038, R84, 414, 421, KM184, SM57, SM81, AKG D19, D12, D112, Audix D6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2008, 11:36 AM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Question about using more than 4 mic\'s with 003 factory

I second the Audient, unless you have the cash for an Apogee Rosetta 800 and the external mic pre's you will need with it. I started out buying Studio Projects VTB-1 Mic Pre's from Full Compass for like $85 a piece, with the intention of replacing them with higher end Pre's along the way. I still use 4 of the VTB1's on a daily basis because they are great Pre's! Not to mention they are the best sounding Bass DI I have ever used, I just turn the Tube Blend up all the way and it's sweet. But the Audient is hands down a Presonus murderer! MUCH better Pre's by a lot!
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2008, 12:44 PM
protonneutron protonneutron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 88
Default Re: Question about using more than 4 mic\'s with 003 factory

OODSare, what kind of Music do you record using the Studio Porjects pres you purchased from Fullcompass? I have the Digi003 Factory, Macbook Pro 2.33, Structure, Hybrid, Xpand, Glyph external drive, CME88, Adams A7, Strike.....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2008, 01:18 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Question about using more than 4 mic\'s with 003 factory

I have recorded just about everything out there, but now mainly record Pop, Pop/Rock, Rock, Folk, Jam, Jam/Rock, Bluegrass, Blues. I have done some metal in the past as well. I have 3 projects going right now in the mix phase that are Indie Rock, Jam/Rock and Pop/Rock. So I have 40 songs in the process of being mixed right now. The Studio Projects have been on every session so far, I like them on Snare, especially driving those tubes again on the bottom snare mic. There is a phase flip switch as well. I haven't tried them on vocals just because I reach for my UA 2-610 every time.
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2008, 07:20 AM
dougied dougied is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Omahaha, Nebraska, U.S.A.
Posts: 609
Default Re: Question about using more than 4 mic\'s with 003 factory

Ok, so the Audient's Price is around $2295 from Sweetwater, and My question is this... If these mic pres are way gnarly then how do you get 4 or 6 more that sound just as good to add on to that 8? I mean the 4 on the 002/003 kinda suck but I wouldn't want to throw down $5K just for 2 of those Audients. If I throw $5K down I might as well throw down $7K and get PTHD.

Just curious...
__________________
Mac Pro Dual Quad 2.8Ghz 2008
MacBook Pro i7 2012
OSX 10.8.5 - OSX 10.7.5
Pro Tools 10.3.7 - 11.1.2
6GB RAM
Universal Audio Apollo Quad!!!
Eleven Rack
Focusrite Octopre MKII
Yamaha HS80s
Rockit RP5 Monitors w/ RP10 sub
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-21-2008, 03:23 PM
kidbazooka kidbazooka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougied View Post
Ok, so the Audient's Price is around $2295 from Sweetwater, and My question is this... If these mic pres are way gnarly then how do you get 4 or 6 more that sound just as good to add on to that 8? I mean the 4 on the 002/003 kinda suck but I wouldn't want to throw down $5K just for 2 of those Audients. If I throw $5K down I might as well throw down $7K and get PTHD.

Just curious...
You couldn't really use TWO Audients, since there is just one "ADAT" connector on the 002. I have one Audient via ADAT, then 4 "boutique" mic pres plugged into inputs 5-8. You should be able to get the Audient (w the ADAT interface) for $2000 even, delivered.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-22-2008, 07:31 AM
fingmung fingmung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Default

try the presonus digimax d8.
i have a 003 rack and use it to expand my 4 mic inputs to 12.
It works fantastically!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo Mic's Markk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-05-2003 10:32 AM
valve mic's electronic.steve 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-13-2003 09:49 PM
Speaking of mic's.... silence_of_stone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-10-2003 07:58 PM
vintage mic's Bastiaan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 12-17-2002 11:39 AM
Drum Mic's (again) Plastik909 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 03-11-2002 01:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com