Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2005, 09:45 PM
jdhiler jdhiler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 69
Default select playlist shortcut

anybody got a good keyboard shortcut for selecting track playlists? "next/previous playlist" would be kickass, yes? i've got quickeys and ikey.

tia.

j-hi
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2005, 12:50 PM
Don Geppert Don Geppert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 267
Default Re: select playlist shortcut

Not easy to do (unless somebody else has figured it out). No key command to access this. Has to be a mouse point/click.

In the past I have made a quickey to do this but since it requires a mouse point/click (on an exact location) it also requires that the screen (ie: edit page) is in EACTLY the same place every time. So it's not a very stable thing to acquire.

I'd be interested if anyone else has found a solution.

Seems strange that such a powerful feature in this software is so difficult access quickly.
__________________
Music Industry Arts
Fanshawe College
MIA2@sympatico.ca
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2005, 05:10 PM
jdhiler jdhiler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 69
Default Re: select playlist shortcut

that is exactly my kludge as well. click/drag relative to window.

talk about a drag...

j-hi
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2005, 05:28 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: select playlist shortcut

Quote:
anybody got a good keyboard shortcut for selecting track playlists? "next/previous playlist" would be kickass, yes? i've got quickeys and ikey.

tia.

j-hi
A request that myself and others asked for on the 'Pro Tools 7.0 feature wish list' thread.

Fill out the 'Feature Request Form' for a short cut for this. I sent one in a few times.

I like the new shortcut to select edit playlist. We need something similar for track playlists instead of mousing around all the time.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2005, 02:01 PM
lobe lobe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: select playlist shortcut

Also a shortcut for "hide selected tracks" and "solo selected" too. Its a pain finding the solo button on one track on a big screen, especially on minimised tracks. If anyone knows of a shortcut for these please post.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2005, 03:21 AM
xsnell xsnell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England
Posts: 17
Default Re: select playlist shortcut

Quote:
Also a shortcut for "hide selected tracks" and "solo selected" too. Its a pain finding the solo button on one track on a big screen, especially on minimised tracks. If anyone knows of a shortcut for these please post.
Hi there,

although there is no "solo selected" and that is a feature I really miss there is a 'lame work around' for auditioning individual tracks: Shuttle lock at standard speed (control + numeric 5 or simply 5 if in shuttle mode) will allow you to hear two tracks on their own. It's not ideal but it's much faster than the old vermin.

Mr. X
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2005, 03:35 AM
lobe lobe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: select playlist shortcut

Thanks. That's some help. I guess the two waveforms have to be next to eachother like entering scrub via holding down control?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-10-2005, 09:52 AM
xsnell xsnell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England
Posts: 17
Default Re: select playlist shortcut

Hi,

if your edit selection goes over two tracks it will play both (provided they are two voices) if you select only one it will play only one. I haven't tried if they need to be next to each other. You can select skipping tracks but I'm not sure if that will affect scrub.

Mr. X
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Playlist shortcut? Mix Master Factories 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-03-2010 04:32 AM
New playlist shortcut? jdutaillis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-20-2009 11:22 PM
Shortcut for NEW PLAYLIST ? John Edwards UK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-22-2008 07:25 AM
Edit Selection change w/ Undo/Redo Select Playlist krofa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-24-2006 10:02 AM
why can I not select single regions in playlist DjA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-25-2005 09:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com