Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2011, 08:03 AM
suckamc suckamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 58
Default My 11r clips when the output is turned up

It's INTERNAL to the 11r. It is there. It shows up on headphones, in a PA (and no, the pre's aren't clipping) and it shows up in studio monitors. It is more distorted at 8.5 and up than it is lower than that. It is an internal clipping. It happens when playing, or when listening to music. This means I need to "bit starve" both while I record, listen and play live.

WTF
__________________
Affiliations: Line 6, Reverend Guitars, Rockett Pedals, Pedaltrain, Curt Mangan Strings and Lollar pickups.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2011, 09:29 AM
texasdave texasdave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 120
Default Re: My 11r clips when the output is turned up

The culprit on mine about 100% of the time is in the amp output setting (not to be confused with rig output.) Go to the metering screen and you'll probably see it clipping there. You can back that down a nick and suddenly be a lot happier... YMMV...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2011, 09:30 AM
suckamc suckamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 58
Default Re: My 11r clips when the output is turned up

I'm not using an amp. It's not reading as clipping on the 11r's meters, either.
__________________
Affiliations: Line 6, Reverend Guitars, Rockett Pedals, Pedaltrain, Curt Mangan Strings and Lollar pickups.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2011, 09:35 AM
therealmf therealmf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 190
Default Re: My 11r clips when the output is turned up

Texasdave was not talking about the amp output as the output of your amp but rather of the parameter inside the 11R that carries the name "amp output". It's inside the amp's control parameters.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-16-2011, 09:35 AM
suckamc suckamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 58
Default Re: My 11r clips when the output is turned up

I know that. It's not that. None of the meters are clipping (either when playing or when listening).

Listening now, literally Pat Metheny's guitar is distorting more (digitally) when the main output is turned up AND NONE of the 11r's meters says anything about clipping.
__________________
Affiliations: Line 6, Reverend Guitars, Rockett Pedals, Pedaltrain, Curt Mangan Strings and Lollar pickups.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-16-2011, 11:24 AM
derker derker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 622
Default Re: My 11r clips when the output is turned up

Try turning the volume down in your media player, maybe?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-16-2011, 11:30 AM
suckamc suckamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 58
Default Re: My 11r clips when the output is turned up

That would show it clipping in the meters, and it wouldn't explain why it clips when playing guitar.
__________________
Affiliations: Line 6, Reverend Guitars, Rockett Pedals, Pedaltrain, Curt Mangan Strings and Lollar pickups.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-16-2011, 06:27 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,909
Default Re: My 11r clips when the output is turned up

Judging from your answers to the suggestions given, it sounds to me like you know there is something wrong with the 11R, and that it is internal so why not take it in to be tested by a tech?

Is it still under warranty?
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-2011, 08:20 PM
suckamc suckamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 58
Default Re: My 11r clips when the output is turned up

No. I've had it since it came out. It's never suffered a hit or anything, either.

But honestly, I just can't do without it. I do this for a living and I use the 11r constantly these days. I'll just have to make do with a messed up one, I guess.
__________________
Affiliations: Line 6, Reverend Guitars, Rockett Pedals, Pedaltrain, Curt Mangan Strings and Lollar pickups.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exporting Clips as WAVs, clips dont highlight in list gigantorbuzz Pro Tools 10 6 08-05-2013 01:07 PM
Cross fades are not between clips but at the end or beginning of clips phatbeatstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 09-10-2012 02:08 AM
Drag Clips = Delete Clips??? Connor macOS 2 07-09-2012 07:50 PM
Editing clips without creating new clips dimebagslash Pro Tools 10 2 07-04-2012 07:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com