Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-29-2006, 04:54 PM

Default New MBox User...MacBook or MacBook Pro?

Just purchased MBox2 Factory and am looking to make the jump over to Mac from years of PC use.

I've read/spoken to many regarding MacBook v. MacBook Pro, but wanted more info from actual users. I do know that if I want to do anything more than low level video, I need the Pro.

But other than that consideration, I'm looking for any guidance from the "pros" on this forum.

BTW, I'm an airline pilot and I spend up to 16 hours at a time aloft, in the cockpit or bunks, and in all levels of lighting. (Glossy screen users chime in!)

I've boiled it down to: MacBook loaded up with RAM and HD that will work fine w/PT, or the 15/2.0/1G Pro.

Thanks in advance,

Jeff
Old 08-30-2006, 01:48 AM

Default Re: New MBox User...MacBook or MacBook Pro?

For the time being, I really feel like the MacBook is a better buy. The MacBook Pro should be updated almost any day now though because Intel just released the Core 2 Duo processor and that is making its way into PC laptops right now so Apple shouldn't be far behind. I personally find the glossy screen a little annoying from time to time but I just adjust a little and its good.
Old 08-30-2006, 05:27 AM

Thanks...I thought the Apple rep was being a bit dodgy when I asked him what was on the horizon.

Anyone else?
Old 08-30-2006, 12:17 PM

Hi!
Yes- patience (I am in same boat here, minus the plane stuff )

Merom chips from Intel were officially released this week, and rumour has it certain production facilities are ramped up...ones Apple reportedly uses. At least I could swear I read that somewhere at least semi-reliable