Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2010, 04:20 PM
1m1 1m1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 726
Default 8.0.4 issue

I used 8.0.4 on a film scoring session this last week for the first time. It ran quite well for the most part. The main issue I had was that PT sessions that had a lot of audio files/regions took a long time to open—close to a minute sometimes. These sessions weren't even THAT big compared to how big some sessions can get. When 75 musicians are out there on the clock one minute can be expensive. The session would open and then beach ball for many seconds with the region list empty. Then finally the beach ball would end and the region list would populate and I could go ahead and work.

I did get three unexpected quits in five days, which rarely happened in 8.0.1 - it seems like maybe there is some memory leak or something condition that got worse as I'd work thru the day, slowing the system down a little bit, then finally it unexpectedly quit.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2010, 04:47 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: 8.0.4 issue

To dig into this we'll need a lot more information about your system and configuration. The Help Us Help You thread has all the details.

One thing to check is that all your audio drives are in the Privacy panel of Spotlight - if they aren't, it can cause problems like this.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2010, 04:57 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 554
Default Re: 8.0.4 issue

Once I upgraded to 8.0.4 HD I got more 'Unexpectedly quit' errors as well.
__________________
Mac Pro 2012 12-Core 2.4GHz RAM 48GB
Native 2018.3 HD_OSX 10.12.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2010, 06:08 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: 8.0.4 issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intransit View Post
Once I upgraded to 8.0.4 HD I got more 'Unexpectedly quit' errors as well.
Please put this in a new thread, as it has no bearing on this one.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-2010, 07:29 AM
Musicetto Musicetto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nassau, Bahamas
Posts: 3
Default Re: 8.0.4 issue

Hello. Yes Pro tools 8.0.4 quits unexpectantly on my computer also. I did it a few times with pro tools 8, I thought the upgrade would have corrected this problem, but it seems to have gotten worst. i've search for awhile to find a fix for this, but to no avail. I did find that it is extremely common with other users and there seems to be no fix in sight. Please help us. Never experience such unstable behavior with pro tools.

Mac Os x 10.5.8
Pro tools LE 8.0.4
Digi 002 Rack

Last edited by Musicetto; 08-06-2010 at 07:31 AM. Reason: Didn't include my specs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-06-2010, 07:47 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,483
Default Re: 8.0.4 issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Musicetto View Post
Hello. Yes Pro tools 8.0.4 quits unexpectantly on my computer also. I did it a few times with pro tools 8, I thought the upgrade would have corrected this problem, but it seems to have gotten worst. i've search for awhile to find a fix for this, but to no avail. I did find that it is extremely common with other users and there seems to be no fix in sight. Please help us. Never experience such unstable behavior with pro tools.

Mac Os x 10.5.8
Pro tools LE 8.0.4
Digi 002 Rack
Hello,

Please give us your full specs!

please tell us what troubleshooting steps you have taken already!

Have you read the troubleshooting threads top of the forum?

1000'S of users are not having any problems, so will be something specific to your setup, so you'll need to tell us evereything possible about your system.

HAVE YOU CHECKED ALL YOUR PLUGINS ARE UP TO DATE AND COMPATIBLE!! This is the most important thing to check, and often when we check what plugs are installed it often tells us there are incompatible and out of date plugs in the folder causes such issues!


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-06-2010, 08:08 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: 8.0.4 issue

Crizdee is 100% right in his recomendations. And as well, the fact that you upgraded to a newer version of P Tools and that it did nothing to change your symptoms points pretty conclusively to the fact that it's system related. It is not the version of P Tools that is causing your issue.

Also, this is the TDM forum. You should try posting in the correct LE forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 9.0.6 Start/Stop Issue and Plug-in Instrument Issue ZDF macOS 0 01-14-2013 03:47 PM
weird crash issue PTx and possible procontrol issue, need help Cryos Pro Tools 10 5 12-08-2011 06:17 PM
Some regions had invalid bounds... non-issue becoming a crash issue!!! krichu Pro Tools 9 3 12-11-2010 05:49 AM
Digi 002 Power Harness Issue or Firewire Chip Issue? Nish 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 35 05-07-2010 02:25 PM
002 Console Issue, Faders Wont Move (grounding issue?) guitar486 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-01-2010 04:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com