Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2010, 04:17 AM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 424
Default PPMulator - total graphics slow down?

I've had problems with Zplanes PPMulator and the graphics performance for the rest of ProTools - basically I can insert the plugin fine, but as soon as I have the plugin window open (kind of essential for metering plugs ), the rest of the PT's GUI stutters and slows right down (mix window meters, playback cursor, general unresponsive system) as does video playback - the plugin window GUI though is normal. Doesn't make any difference if the plugin view is VU's or bar graphs etc. As soon as i close the plugin window, the Protools GUI and everything else returns to normal.

Anyone else finding this?
MacPro, 2 x 2.8GHZ Harpertown, MacOS 10.5.8, Pt's HD 8.01 cs1, Zplane v. 2.11.2, ATI Radeon HD 2600 graphics card. Blackmagic Extreme III PCI card

Thanks
D
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2010, 05:58 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: PPMulator - total graphics slow down?

Use it fine and never had any problems with it.

BTW, they're called needles, not VUs - VUs are totally different to PPMs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2010, 06:03 AM
Gary Nattrass Gary Nattrass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Durham UK
Posts: 260
Default Re: PPMulator - total graphics slow down?

I have a similar system and have not had any problems with PPMulator.
__________________
Over 30 years in Broadcast Film and TV: www.HDProductionSolutions.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2010, 06:06 AM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 424
Default Re: PPMulator - total graphics slow down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
Use it fine and never had any problems with it.

BTW, they're called needles, not VUs - VUs are totally different to PPMs
Honestly terminology is the least of my worries right now but OK, fair point, should probably re-phrase as "changing the visual metering style makes no difference" seen as of course everything is still measured on the PPM scale regardless of GUI....
D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2010, 06:07 AM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 424
Default Re: PPMulator - total graphics slow down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Nattrass View Post
I have a similar system and have not had any problems with PPMulator.
Hmmm, OK, wondering if the graphics card is developing a fault of something like that...
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2010, 06:44 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: PPMulator - total graphics slow down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by D'Animation View Post
Hmmm, OK, wondering if the graphics card is developing a fault of something like that...
Thanks
What are your caches set to in Pro Tools? Having them too high can cause issues with the GUI.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2010, 06:47 AM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 424
Default Re: PPMulator - total graphics slow down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
What are your caches set to in Pro Tools? Having them too high can cause issues with the GUI.
Normal. Only ever happens with PPMulator, no other plugs though which still baffles me
D
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2010, 06:51 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: PPMulator - total graphics slow down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by D'Animation View Post
Normal. Only ever happens with PPMulator, no other plugs though which still baffles me
D

Really strange. Have you tried downgrading to an older version of it?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2010, 06:55 AM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 424
Default Re: PPMulator - total graphics slow down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
Really strange. Have you tried downgrading to an older version of it?
By accident yes, my initial version I got was the the older one which is what I thought might be the cause at first
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-25-2010, 07:13 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: PPMulator - total graphics slow down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by D'Animation View Post
By accident yes, my initial version I got was the the older one which is what I thought might be the cause at first

Have you asked zPlane what they suggest? If you want to try DMM v2. you could get a demo version of it, if you're in the UK, HHB will help you out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT HDX 11 slow performance due graphics card Timo Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 02-08-2015 09:42 AM
Waves v7, slow graphics when plug-in is on screen? weezul Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 05-22-2011 03:29 PM
PT9 and PPMulator spoons Post - Surround - Video 2 01-26-2011 05:09 PM
PT9 and PPMulator spoons Pro Tools 9 0 11-10-2010 12:34 PM
Slow Graphics Nocturnal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 03-11-2001 12:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com