Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2007, 05:39 PM
bjonesAAB bjonesAAB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Default the sucking sound

Hey folks,
ProTools LE 6.9
DIGI 002
Mac OS 10.4.8
Powerbook 1.5ghz

Yesterday, I launch PT 6.9 on my mac oS10.4.8 system , and i get an error box saying protools has quit unexpectantly. No error numbers, just the opportunity to send a log to Apple - which i have copy and pasted here:

www.laststoprr.com/PTCRASH

I have not done any upgrades to this computer and rarely put it on the net....Core audio still functions fine...
I have cleared all libraries, preferences and logs. reinstalled PT (back to 6.7) and still no change....
I have had some crashes that locked up the computer in the past week while working in PT, though i'm pretty sure it was exceeding usable memory via plug-in usage.
Any chance someone knows what i am missing here?

Thanks, kevin
www.laststoprr.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2007, 10:31 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: the sucking sound

You don't mention how much RAM you have in that 'Book or if it's the original drive.

If you are lean on RAM, and are still running the original drive it could be headed south due to years of being thrashed with VM swap files. Cloning your system to a backup, zeroing the drive, and cloning back may buy you some time, but it's probably time to start thinking about a new drive.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2007, 11:46 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: the sucking sound

6.7 won't work at all on a Tiger system, 6.9 shouldn't either - you need 6.9.2 or higher to work on a 10.4 computer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2007, 05:58 PM
bjonesAAB bjonesAAB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Default Re: the sucking sound

my apologies:
i am running PT 6.9.2, my bad.
1.25g of memory....

I just re-installed OS X as some errors appeared a day later(strange??!!) in disk utility application. And uninstalled/re-installed PT 6.7. digi test shows error -1092, so perhaps i am installing something wrong? strange too , cuz 6.9.2 shows up in my folder with 6.7....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2007, 06:51 PM
bjonesAAB bjonesAAB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Default Re: the sucking sound

Again cleared out all PT libraries and folders, de-installed and re-installed PT 6.7. Nothing looks out of place (no 6.9.2 showing up). I have also installed the 6.9.2 update now. Still no launch of Pro Tools.
Perhaps i will try a clean install next.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2007, 06:52 PM
bjonesAAB bjonesAAB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Default Re: the sucking sound

Again cleared out all PT libraries and folders, de-installed and re-installed PT 6.7. Nothing looks out of place (no 6.9.2 showing up). I have also installed the 6.9.2 update now. Still no launch of Pro Tools.
Perhaps i will try a clean un- install next.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2007, 08:53 AM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: the sucking sound

1.25GB is a respectable amount of RAM, but you could still be generating a lot of swap file activity if you really push the system. Laptop drives tend to run hot, and drives can get flakey before they fail completely. Not saying that is definitely your problem here, but you should consider the possibility.

When I was setting up my 10.3.9/6.4 system I hosed the whole thing experimenting with different versions of CAD. I ended up having to remove everything related to PT before I could get it to work right again. Make sure you get the stuff that the uninstaller leaves behind if you go that route.

Of course if you zero the drive, and reinstall everything from scratch then you can be sure you got all those pesky hidden files.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-19-2007, 09:47 AM
manyrains manyrains is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 344
Default Re: the sucking sound

This from the FWIW dept, as I am totally new to all this, but...
I just got a Mac Pro, set up 7.1 on 10.4.8. Everything was working til I ended up with "HD transfer only issue". After getting no solutions here I called Digi. The first thing the guy said was it has to 7.1.1. I told him everything was working fine when I initially set up. He said 7.1 should not work. I said "but it was..." So we began by clean uninstall and upgrading, (me thinking this would be a waste of time- it had been working). Well, that seemed to take care of it.
__________________
www.jimsavage.net
www.manyrainsmedia.com
Mac Pro Late 2013, 3.7, 12GB, Apollo Twin, PT12, ADL 600, UA 2-1176, Mojave MA-200
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-19-2007, 11:52 AM
bjonesAAB bjonesAAB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Default Re: the sucking sound

clean uninstall is next.
then i'll attempt a total drive wipe.
Thanks for the help, it is much appreciated.
I wouldn't be surprised if the internal is nearing its end of days. Its been around the proverbial block.
i'll report back at the end of the day.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-20-2007, 04:50 AM
stiefelmusik stiefelmusik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Essen, Germany
Posts: 72
Default Re: the sucking sound

Quote:
When I was setting up my 10.3.9/6.4 system I hosed the whole thing experimenting with different versions of CAD.
Sorry for the OT, but M.Brane I was just curious which version of CAD you finally settled on. I never could get the multi-client drivers to work at buffer settings lower than 512 without audio glitches on my Digi 001, so I stayed with version 6.4. I tried everything to get them to work because I wanted to use Live 5.x which for some reason didn't like CAD 6.4, but I only ended up hosing my system as well and had to re-install everything.
__________________
Powermac G5 2x2GHz 4GB RAM OS 10.4.11 PT LE 7.4 DIGI002r Command8 3xUAD-1
MacBook C2D 2.4Ghz 4GB RAM OS 10.5.8 PT LE 8.0.1cs1 Mbox1 Novation ReMOTE 61
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to use Beat Detective without sucking the life ouf the performance chavernac Pro Tools 10 1 12-19-2011 06:03 AM
PTLE 8.0 sucking the life out of me Tosty 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 01-02-2009 10:51 AM
Sucking RAM + distorted tracks dougchase 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-19-2004 05:08 PM
Waves: SUCKING the life out of me basschair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 09-03-2002 06:55 PM
sucking in vocal effect??? Dr. J Tips & Tricks 3 12-29-2001 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com