Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-13-2020, 04:07 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: Sidelined by CPU Problem on 32GB Mac

Sadly, no. If you need good performance, you need external SSD on TB or internal NVMe SSD -- both expensive in larger size.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-13-2020, 04:09 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: Sidelined by CPU Problem on 32GB Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by cp2 View Post
upgrade from USB-C
Any SSD on USB-C will be much better than your spinner, because by design SSD has minimal latency. Unless you need to use practically every library at the same time, that *may* be enough for you. With the USB bottleneck of course.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-13-2020, 04:38 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,177
Default Re: Sidelined by CPU Problem on 32GB Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by cp2 View Post
I wondered if the drive might have something to do with this issue as well. I have about 3TB of libraries all on an external drive which is a 4 TB Glyph USB-C (3.1), 7200rpm (not SSD). I was thinking of using this as a backup drive only and getting another one, but a 4 TB SSD with a thunderbolt 3 connection is about $1500. Ouch. Any suggestions on an upgrade from USB-C that would be an improvement but less than $1500? My internal drive is only 500GB...

I hope we will see more USB 3.1/Gen 2 USB drives in the 4TB capacity range soon and hopefully Thunderbolt 3/PCIe/NVMe drives as well.

The NVMe SSDs are just so stunningly fast, but always be careful that any "Thunderbolt 3" drive is a PCIe/NVMe drive... some may only be SATA internally.

If you did purchase an external USB SSD or SSDs today that might not be terrible... as you say you can use your HDD or clones/backups.

But if curious if the drive performance is an issue one thing you might be able to do is copy only the samples you need to the boot drive and repoint Omnisphere to them. And test, just to see if there is an improvement. I don't have a feel for how large the libraries you might need are... but I've done this in the past with other sample based systems.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-13-2020, 11:22 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,834
Default Re: Sidelined by CPU Problem on 32GB Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by cp2 View Post
I wondered if the drive might have something to do with this issue as well. I have about 3TB of libraries all on an external drive which is a 4 TB Glyph USB-C (3.1), 7200rpm (not SSD). I was thinking of using this as a backup drive only and getting another one, but a 4 TB SSD with a thunderbolt 3 connection is about $1500. Ouch. Any suggestions on an upgrade from USB-C that would be an improvement but less than $1500? My internal drive is only 500GB...
Omnisphere does stream from disk but the instruments really aren’t that big. It’s a bit of a throwback from when people had less RAM in their computers.

An external USB-C NVMe enclosure would be a lot cheaper than $1500
https://www.amazon.co.uk/ICY-BOX-Enc...s%2C161&sr=8-3

These are limited to 1000MB/s over USB-C but with the massively faster access time over a spinner you’re talking four times faster than your Glyph.

Unfortunately 4TB NVMe sticks are still expensive but a Sabrent Rocket 2TB stick is less than $300.

Even better one of these:
https://eshop.macsales.com/shop/express-4m2
Add two 2TB NVMe sticks and it’s still a lot cheaper than $1500
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 10.3.5 & Mac Pro 32GB alqadhi44 General Discussion 1 06-17-2013 09:12 PM
...and in a puff of smoke, I was sidelined. kooz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-19-2009 08:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com