Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-07-2020, 02:55 PM

Default How can I make Windows sound louder when using Pro Tools?

I have a Lenovo Thinkpad laptop 16 GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Core i7 3.8GHz, Windows 7. I am still relatively new with Pro Tools, I am quite comfortable with using Windows, altough I am not a programmer, so my knowledge is far from expert level.

By default, Windows' audio output isn't very loud, specifically the low end. By "default audio output", I mean Realtek High Definition audio in Control Panel/Hardware and Sound/Sound/Playback tab.

My question is, how can I make Windows louder when using Pro Tools? Specifically, the low end.

====================

What have I tried?

Several pieces of software have been created to, amongst other things, boost the volume output in Windows. I use Fx Sound Enhancer. Here is a link to their description.

Fx Sound Enhancer works well as a playback device when streaming music as well as using standalone synth programs such as Equator, but I cannot get it to work with any piece of software that uses Asio4All. This includes FL Studio 11 and Pro Tools 12.

Why is it odd to me that Fx Sound Enhancer does not work with Pro Tools?

Fx Sound Enhancer appears in Control Panel/Hardware and Sound/Sound/Playback tab. It is set as my default device, and Realtek HD Audio is disabled.

Like I said, sound is playing when streaming music or playing audio files (and it sounds amazing).

But the thing is, when opening Pro Tools and going to the ASIO control panel, Fx Sound Enhancer does not appear in WDM Device list.

Here's what makes even less sense to me: