Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2012, 07:12 AM
Squid Vicious Squid Vicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 93
Default Desktop Line 6 X3 vs HD Inquiry

Hi,

I am a bass player and looking for some decent distortion options for recording guitars direct into Pro Tools 10 via MBox Pro. I do not want to buy a Line6 POD HD since it is $400 and used they seem to be going for like $300+. I am curious to know if anyone can tell me if getting a used POD X3 will work for my situation of needing occasional decent guitar distortions. Assuming this is a discontinued model I'm wondering if there is any reason not to get an X3 used etc.

Thanks for any input here...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2012, 08:48 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: Desktop Line 6 X3 vs HD Inquiry

Is there a reason you don't want to just use plugins?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2012, 09:54 AM
Squid Vicious Squid Vicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 93
Default Re: Desktop Line 6 X3 vs HD Inquiry

I don't know. Some I have sound tinny etc. I think I will try IK Multi.'s plugins though. Their Metal one has got to have some distortions I can use.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2012, 10:40 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: Desktop Line 6 X3 vs HD Inquiry

The sounds in the hardware units are just plugins in a box. The variation in sound would happen because of the digital conversion in those boxes. The Mbox converters are better quality than most of those hardware units, so it should help with the sound.

The only reason to get a hardware unit would be if it has additional amps/effects not available in plugins (this the case with the Eleven Rack and POD HD models), or if you need to get one anyway for live use.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2012, 11:48 AM
groundcontrol's Avatar
groundcontrol groundcontrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 961
Default

You can grab an Eleven Rack used at a good price now...
__________________
Can you please send yourself over fiber to go spam some other forum?

Darryl Ramm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General Inquiry firsty33 General Discussion 0 10-04-2013 09:31 PM
RAM inquiry ma1827 Pro Tools 9 16 11-27-2011 10:49 AM
Line 6 Pod HD Desktop announced! nst7 Eleven Rack 10 04-21-2011 01:55 PM
PT HD inquiry ballsd33p General Discussion 29 04-10-2010 08:34 PM
mojo inquiry benjiduc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 09-02-2009 06:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com