Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2020, 01:38 PM
Porky Porky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 120
Default Odd TC issue

So I received a QT screener from a client. Importing it into PT shows the tc rate on the video track as 23.976 (in white-no error). But the TC does not stay synchronous. So I scrolled until I found the issue, which is that the screener (burn-in) jumps from 58:59;23 to 59:00;02. And yes, it does have the semi-colon which generally denotes drop-frame. I'm sure this is simple, but not sure what I'm missing here. My assumption is that they made the screener incorrectly, but just not sure how.

thx all
__________________
Dave
CBS TV Distribution/On-Air
PT 2019.6.0
S3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2020, 02:47 PM
tomaspal tomaspal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Odd TC issue

If you open up the video in Quicktime and go through frame by frame, do you see the same issue? If so, it definitely sounds like there was an encoding issue before the video file got to you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2020, 03:13 PM
Porky Porky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 120
Default Re: Odd TC issue

Yes, the TC burn-in shows the jump. I'm just not sure how you would create a DF 23.976? I'm sure it was an encoding error, just not sure how. I want to be able to convey the issue to the client and give them an option to resolve, but until I can have an idea of how they "screwed it up" I don't want to make that claim.
__________________
Dave
CBS TV Distribution/On-Air
PT 2019.6.0
S3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2020, 02:18 PM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 90
Default Re: Odd TC issue

Sounds like the burn-in is on a timeline that is drop-frame while the export was done at 23.976. If the overlay is set to match the TC of the sequence it will display DF. They just need to pic a spec. Are they mastering in 29.97 DF or 23.976?

-Chris
__________________

• PT HD|Native 2020.9 on 10.13.6 (Angelbird SSD) // MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 24GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC FW800, USB 3.0, eSATA // MTRX Studio
• PT HD 11.3.2 on 10.13.6 // MacBook Pro 17" 2.66 GHz i7 8GB RAM
• Avid Dock,
Artist Series Mix & iPad 7th gen & Eucon 20.5
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paste automation over multiple tracks issue, Fade Move Issue WinstonDeath Pro Tools 2020 1 04-09-2020 02:31 PM
PT 9.0.6 Start/Stop Issue and Plug-in Instrument Issue ZDF macOS 0 01-14-2013 02:47 PM
Some regions had invalid bounds... non-issue becoming a crash issue!!! krichu Pro Tools 9 3 12-11-2010 04:49 AM
Digi 002 Power Harness Issue or Firewire Chip Issue? Nish 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 35 05-07-2010 01:25 PM
002 Console Issue, Faders Wont Move (grounding issue?) guitar486 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-01-2010 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com