Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2010, 10:36 AM
producerdna producerdna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 31
Smile PT9 with Macbook Air 2010 and Apogee One

I was thrilled about PT9 and I was very curious about how this setup would work but I couldn't find any articles online so I took my chance and made the
purchase..

Result?


I'm VERY Happy with my purchase.. My sessions are usually 70 to 90 tracks
and as long as I don't use crazy amount of plugins, it's very stable..
If your sessions are under 50 tracks, you'll be amazed by how the MB Air handles it..

I Love Apogee One very much as well. You'll have much better reference than listening through the built in headphone jack on the Mac.

This truly is the best mobile setup I've ever owned and I really love how I could mix @ the Starbucks without the bulky interface..

I Love it... period..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2010, 11:30 AM
SixChurchStreet SixChurchStreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 1,296
Default Re: PT9 with Macbook Air 2010 and Apogee One

Which CPU does your Air have?

Your report is comforting. I sometimes get concerned that my 2.4GHz duo MacBook Pro is a little weak, but I should be able to at least do what you've reported.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 8-Core 16GB RAM El Capitan | 2011 MacBook Pro 2.0GHz 4-Core i7 8GB RAM El Capitan | Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Mk2 | Pro Tools 2018 | Studio One 3.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2010, 01:57 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: PT9 with Macbook Air 2010 and Apogee One

Good to hear. Are you tracking to the SSD drive?
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2010, 04:18 PM
producerdna producerdna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: PT9 with Macbook Air 2010 and Apogee One

THe fastest CPU available is dual-core 2.13ghz and I was little worried about the speed before the purchase but I think SSD makes it up perfectly..
I realized why Apple didn't offer i3 or i5 upgrade because if they did, I'm sure Nobody would buy MB Pros or MB's..

I read an article online and few people didn't recommend using SSD as a recording drive but I've tracked 2 songs so far (about 60tracks each session) and worked beautifully.. It hasn't crashed on me yet..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2010, 06:05 AM
producerdna producerdna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: PT9 with Macbook Air 2010 and Apogee One

Quote:
Originally Posted by SixChurchStreet View Post
Which CPU does your Air have?

Your report is comforting. I sometimes get concerned that my 2.4GHz duo MacBook Pro is a little weak, but I should be able to at least do what you've reported.

Upgrade your hard drive to SSD.. You'll be blown away by how fast it runs..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2010, 03:54 AM
producerdna producerdna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: PT9 with Macbook Air 2010 and Apogee One

I've used this setup for a good week and I'm very impressed.
Recording to SSD is just awesome..
It crashed on me one time but it worked fine after a restart..
I think this is more stable than my mac pro..(Quad Core 2.66ghz 10GB ram)
Once I got used to editing on the MB, I'm loving it even more..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2010, 06:09 AM
sunrise music sunrise music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 79
Default Re: PT9 with Macbook Air 2010 and Apogee One

Thanks for letting us know, sounds great. I'm eyeing the 11 inch as I travel a lot. I wouldn't need as many tracks as you, but I'd want to max out the CPU for sure if I get it, and I guess the RAM too.

I have a 2.2ghz late 2006 white macbook which meets all my recording needs, so if I get an 11" I wouldn't be getting rid of the white MB.

If I don't get it then for sure the 2G of 11" will be the one I grab.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-24-2010, 04:57 AM
Chris Johnson Chris Johnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: PT9 with Macbook Air 2010 and Apogee One

I'd love to hear someone comment on the 11" running PT - i'm seriously considering getting one to replace my 13" MBP & iPad for portability...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-25-2010, 02:17 PM
producerdna producerdna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: PT9 with Macbook Air 2010 and Apogee One

Just a reminder : MB Air is not user upgradable.. so make sure you get all the necessary upgrades when you purchase your new MB Air.. Price is not bad..
$100 for 2.13 GHZ CPU and $100 for 4gb Ram (13inch MB Air 2010)
I think 4gb ram is a MUST..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:28 AM
gypsyfingers gypsyfingers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: PT9 with Macbook Air 2010 and Apogee One

Sorry to bother you here, but I'm trying to set up the Apogee One right now and the i/o is making me crazy, and there doesn't seem to be any help for this set up right now either in the manual, online, or with customer support. I have the input working fine in Maestro, and in the Mac's Sys Prefs, but can't for the life of me get anything but the Mac's internal mic to show up in PT's inputs.

Any tips on how you got PT 9 to play nice with the One??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010-2012 Mac Pros, Imacs, and Macbook Pros do multi-channel HDMI audio out! nst7 Post - Surround - Video 3 07-15-2013 04:37 PM
Macbook Pro and Apogee Ensemble vicdk macOS 5 01-24-2012 07:30 PM
PT9 on 2010 11" Macbook Air - which interface? mds1001 macOS 1 08-22-2011 01:15 PM
Macbook pro (mid 2010) 15” 2.4 / i5 is getting too hot! PetrosGls 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-10-2011 02:17 AM
D-verb test scores for MacBook Pros 2010? SixChurchStreet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-24-2011 01:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com