Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-03-2020, 01:39 PM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,415
Default Re: 2020.9!

I paid someone good money to get them to convert my old 5.1/SDII sessions to 12+/WAV because they'd "stopped supporting SDII".

Do you think I can forward the invoice to AVID?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-03-2020, 02:09 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,594
Default Re: 2020.9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
A whole new release should be dedicated to bug-fixes. No new features. Just make sure EVERYTHING works as expected. All the broken stuff. All the things that have not worked properly in PT for the past 10 years. Then we can move on to new features. Or at the very least, all of the above while introducing new stuff.
Amen. They STILL haven't fixed the MIDI event list issues/bugs which Avid tech support has verified that they exist. So it's still PT 2019.6 for me. Fancy MIDI stuff I don't need - as above just fixed the damned bugs
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-03-2020, 02:42 PM
GoButtonGuy GoButtonGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 29
Default Re: 2020.9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
A whole new release should be dedicated to bug-fixes. No new features. Just make sure EVERYTHING works as expected. All the broken stuff. All the things that have not worked properly in PT for the past 10 years. Then we can move on to new features. Or at the very least, all of the above while introducing new stuff.
How does that not include things that broke because Avid couldn't be bothered to replace 32 bit code? Even though they had a nearly three year heads up. Avid has a multi hundred million dollar market cap. There is no excuse.
__________________
What happens in Vegas, we make happen...
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-03-2020, 03:37 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 490
Default Re: 2020.9!

Ive said it before, if the programmers actually made music, and understood the process they're being paid to work on, they'd fix it in a second. They dont even know, what they dont know. Not thier fault. The company hired 'programmers' and thats where it ended. theres no such thing left as a 'musical programmer' .........it did decades ago........they're all loooonngggg gone.
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-03-2020, 03:41 PM
GoButtonGuy GoButtonGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 29
Default Re: 2020.9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by capt kirk View Post
Ive said it before, if the programmers actually made music, and understood the process they're being paid to work on, they'd fix it in a second. They dont even know, what they dont know. Not thier fault. The company hired 'programmers' and thats where it ended. theres no such thing left as a 'musical programmer' .........it did decades ago........they're all loooonngggg gone.
I agree that it's not the people slinging code that's the reason for the issues. However those folks don't make product and design calls. They implement what the product managers and product designer tell them to. I've known and met some of those people. They do have experience in the space but aren't given carte blanche to do what is required. They are very much a cog in the wheel like the coders and are at the whims of those that control the purse strings and focus of the company.
__________________
What happens in Vegas, we make happen...
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-03-2020, 04:04 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 490
Default Re: 2020.9!

they're being asked to code things, on an external, extremely demanding process, of which theyve never ostensibly participated, and have no visceral understanding of. if you have no hands on with post, what do you care if you just broke the quicktime bounce?!!?!??!?!? who needs that anyway??!?! and what if the old guy who fixed all the legacy code issues is gone on holidays? hmmmm, oh well, lets make a new color wheel!!! MIDI truncating, whats MIDI??!?! see where im going.........audio is extremely detailed work, and can have NO hiccups. we cant blame the programmers. its like hiring a plumber to fix the toilet on the space station.....
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 09-03-2020, 05:11 PM
GoButtonGuy GoButtonGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 29
Default Re: 2020.9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by capt kirk View Post
they're being asked to code things, on an external, extremely demanding process, of which theyve never ostensibly participated, and have no visceral understanding of. if you have no hands on with post, what do you care if you just broke the quicktime bounce?!!?!??!?!? who needs that anyway??!?! and what if the old guy who fixed all the legacy code issues is gone on holidays? hmmmm, oh well, lets make a new color wheel!!! MIDI truncating, whats MIDI??!?! see where im going.........audio is extremely detailed work, and can have NO hiccups. we cant blame the programmers. its like hiring a plumber to fix the toilet on the space station.....
People that code don't need experience in the field. Do you think SAP is written by accountants and CFOs? Is Solidworks written by mechanical engineers? Simply, no. Software engineering is a separate skill set particularly at the level Pro Tools or Media Composer uses.

What happens is someone like me writes a spec. We sit with an interface designer and come up with how the info will be entered and presented. We have milestones and deliverables for which we check in with the engineering managers on a regular basis. They're software engineers. They implement what we tell them. They aren't video directors, stage managers or audio engineers nor do they need to be. They may be musos with their own rigs or perhaps have a You Tube channel to which they stream or even volunteer as A/V crew at the church. The point is they don't have the depth of experience someone cutting features or putting sound to picture or making the next Beyonce record would have.

Along the way we test what we can and test the final product using people that do it for a living, the stage managers, audio techs, people using it in the course of their gig. We report the bugs and the coders fix them (we hope).

It's not near as complex as Pro Tools but the products are engineered and designed using a workflow that's common in software engineering. If something breaks something else it's because I didn't test it enough or with enough different use cases to find it. In the case of what happened with Avid and the 32 bit program issue it would have been because I, as product manager, didn't forsee enough to get it implemented in time or had other constraints that caused me to not start working on it earlier.
__________________
What happens in Vegas, we make happen...
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-03-2020, 06:30 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 944
Default Re: 2020.9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ehaber View Post
I've done some quick tests; it seems to open PT 5.1 and presumably later projects, but not 5.0. And with the 5.1 project it automatically converted the SDII files to wav. I had to use the open project menu and navigate to the 5.1 program to get it to open; simply double clicking the 5.1 project didn't work.
thanks!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-03-2020, 08:18 PM
kobi_dog kobi_dog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: adelaide sth australia
Posts: 31
Default Re: 2020.9!

Enough bitchin, is this update stable on Mac and or PC? have some issues been rectified? Is it more stable than 2020.5 which I down loaded but never opened because of all the negative feed back from that release. What do some of the more savvy people who are smart enough to do tests think of this update? not everyone is a Professional here and some of us less mortals would be very interested in what the so called experts think?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-03-2020, 09:15 PM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 393
Default Re: 2020.9!

Works here ..not really different
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2020.5, macpro 12 core trashcan 64 gig ram, MBP i7 9,1 16gig ram OS 10.12.3.. TBlt UA Apollo16 SSD's [samsung],
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 07:46 AM
Avid Control App Rollback (2020.5 to 2020.3) budster Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 2 06-09-2020 11:01 AM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 08:01 AM
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-16-2020 11:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com