Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2004, 08:56 AM
APinkFloydSound APinkFloydSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 31
Default Tab key function

As I'm sure most of you know, when you hit the tab key the cursor will jump to the beginning of the next waveform. When I first found out about this I thought "wow this is great, when I edit tom's I can quickly go though and find where the tom hits are and cut my time in half". Well I found out that it doesn't always find the beginning of the waveform. Most of the time it starts midway on the upslope of the first wave. Is there a way to calibrate where the tab function selects? I am using 5.3.2. I wonder if this is a non-issue in any 6 version...

Thanks

Mac G4 1Ghz, 1GB RAM
002, 5.3.2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2004, 12:12 AM
BHeller BHeller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Minneapolis, MN 55105
Posts: 292
Default Re: Tab key function

This would be good to know if anyone does. Is there a way to set the threshold for tab-to-transient? There has to be one, but the documentation does not say, which it really should...

-Brian
__________________
Brian Heller,
composer & engineer
brian@whattheheller.com
http://www.WhatTheHeller.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2004, 02:12 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Tab key function

No, there is no threshold setting.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2004, 03:42 AM
Homebelly Homebelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Posts: 687
Default Re: Tab key function

For the most part,,i find this to be pretty accurate,,if it ever dose sound a bit wack,,then i'll just TAB to transient then hit the zoom preset that expands the wave form to the sample level,,,and move the curser manually to the transient line,,Another cool way to do this is to use the STRIP silence window,,,an-allmost-not-quite-but-kinda-sorta-poor-mans BEATDETECTIVE,,Allmost,,but not quite,,!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2004, 01:44 PM
APinkFloydSound APinkFloydSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 31
Default Re: Tab key function

The manual for protools should be another 1,000 pages than what it already is. But anyway thanks for the answer guys...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2004, 02:20 PM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default Re: Tab key function

Quote:
The manual for protools should be another 1,000 pages than what it already is. But anyway thanks for the answer guys...
Are you sure you are looking at the correct manual? The manual is pretty complete in my opinion, maybe it doesn't have everything but there is a whole lot there.
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2004, 09:06 PM
BHeller BHeller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Minneapolis, MN 55105
Posts: 292
Default Re: Tab key function

Does anyone know where the theshold is set to? Is it dynamic (i.e. change with the material or context) or fixed? About what level?

Thanks,
brian
__________________
Brian Heller,
composer & engineer
brian@whattheheller.com
http://www.WhatTheHeller.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alt key function, help. steviemac74 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 7 02-24-2009 02:51 AM
Using shift function John Edwards UK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-03-2008 08:23 PM
Tap function. the_dr38 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-25-2005 05:49 PM
Request for function buttons on DIGI 002 to function stoogee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-05-2003 06:57 AM
Tab function ??? planet X Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 11-29-2002 07:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com