Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2020, 10:14 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,697
Default Avid MTRX studio working with bi-amp speakers

I can’t find this information anywhere although it seems that many users may use a similar setup.
My question is how can I benefit from SPQ applying EQ to physical outputs if I want them to have crossover for low and hi and output each on its own channel. How MTRX holds this task? Can it group i.e ch1/ch2 as the Left or Center or Right, then apply crossover and then EQ it as a corresponding channel.
I don’t have yet MTRX studio, but I would like to know how I could do this so I could ditch my hardware crossovers (QSC DCM10D).

Another question: if I’d use MOM controller, could I still use my DCommand for controlling PT (with no monitor section of course) or there are some known issues with using Icon and dadman protocols together? I don’t intend to work with Eucon yet.
Thanks in advance!
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2020.9 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2020, 03:38 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: Avid MTRX studio working with bi-amp speakers

You could, but you would need to be exceptionally careful as there is no protection built in were you to send low frequency to a tweeter - that would probably be bad!

There are folks who have done it meticulously, however I have never recommended it based on the potential for blowing up speakers. I’ll certainly defer to NTP if they think it’s perfectly fine.

Regarding MOM - no issues since it doesn’t rely on EUCON.


best,


Jeff



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2020, 12:24 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,697
Default Re: Avid MTRX studio working with bi-amp speakers

Thank you Jeff.

You are very right about the precautions regarding putting tweeters at risk.
So would you recommend to go analog out of MTRX into the DCM 10D Analog in (for crossover only) and stay on the safe side?
I am not sure but it seems that the DCM 10D does AD and then DA, so I'll lose the purity of the MTRX converters...
I am still wondering how folks connect MTRX to the Bi-Amp system? Or what is the best way of doing so according to the Avid approach?
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2020.9 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX Studio with HD I/O nedd Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 08-17-2020 07:38 AM
Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid? corp Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 51 04-02-2020 05:31 PM
MTRX Studio - No AES?! Ryan Young Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 23 02-23-2020 02:13 PM
MTRX Studio i/o Cheesehead Post - Surround - Video 6 01-31-2020 09:15 AM
my studio monitor speakers aren't working..help! chal7ds 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-18-2005 08:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com