Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2012, 06:23 AM
Lizardpoint Lizardpoint is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 266
Default Snow Leopard or Lion with PT10.2 HD

Hi Team,
I have an 8 core Mac Pro 2.1 (Old version) that I want to run PT10HD on.

It's the only thing I will be running on this machine.

Is there any advantage in using OSX 10.7.x over 10.6.8 when setting this up?

I think I have noticed my Mac Mini (core duo 2.0Ghz) and my Macbook Pro (core duo 2.4Ghz) both seem a bit sluggish since Lion was installed.

If there is no real advantage then I'll just go with Snow Leopard.

All tips, observations and experiences welcomed.

Cheers

Lizardpoint
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2012, 11:04 AM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Default Re: Snow Leopard or Lion with PT10.2 HD

If you think what is best today Snow Leopard is the way to go. Lion is making your computer more sluggish. I have the same experience as you, I updated Macbook and iMac with Lion but fortunately not my Mac Pro.

However if you are planning for tomorrow I suggest you to wait for Snow Mountain which will be here within a few weeks and then you have to add a couple of weeks for AVID to say it is OK to run Pro Tools on it.

So...skip Lion for now
__________________
HD3 PCIe, HD I/O , HD10.3.10, Mac Pro 6 core , 24 GB RAM , GTX285 , 10.8.5 , UAD-2 Quad Satellite , ATC SCM25A Pro with ADAM Sub 12.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:14 PM
Lizardpoint Lizardpoint is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 266
Default Re: Snow Leopard or Lion with PT10.2 HD

You are absolutely right.
That is great advice.

As far as planning for tomorrow I think my Pro Tools roller coaster ride is soon to end as I have too much gear that is not supported beyond PT10.

Thanks again for your help and very sound advice.

Cheers

Lizardpoint
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2012, 08:03 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,052
Default Re: Snow Leopard or Lion with PT10.2 HD

10.2 is running HD 6 on my 8 core Mac Pro on 10.7 with not a single hiccup here.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2012, 11:20 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Snow Leopard or Lion with PT10.2 HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
10.2 is running HD 6 on my 8 core Mac Pro on 10.7 with not a single hiccup here.
i had 2 pt software crashes today with lion and since i got my new rig at least 5 kernals with lion

my machine is pretty loaded but it should not do that
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2012, 09:34 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,052
Default Re: Snow Leopard or Lion with PT10.2 HD

It definitely should not do that. It's definitely not the the combo of OS and P Tools version that is the problem as it is working well for tons of people. It's gotta be system specific.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2012, 07:48 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Snow Leopard or Lion with PT10.2 HD

it does not crash every day

i may have had a bad session or bad PT file that need to be cleaned with the util.....sometime when i go real real fast in editing and with a loop going on sometimes is when it also doesn't seem to like that
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
snow leopard or lion for PT 10.3.7 queemacarthur macOS 3 11-04-2013 10:12 AM
Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could? EricWillhelm macOS 9 01-11-2013 11:55 AM
From Snow Leopard to Lion... heabow macOS 8 06-06-2012 09:40 AM
PT HD 10: Snow Leopard or Lion? johnnyv Pro Tools 10 2 01-31-2012 10:47 AM
PT10: More Efficient on Snow Leopard or Lion? audiosf macOS 3 10-27-2011 02:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com