Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2015, 03:53 PM
tronic21's Avatar
tronic21 tronic21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: East Rutherford, NJ
Posts: 23
Default Pro Tools 11 doesn't work,Sesions open then pro tools stop responding

I have a macbook pro 2.6 ghz i5 8 gigs of ram
running Pro Tools 11.3.1

I try opening my existing sessions and pro tools stops responding
I try a new session and it stops responding

I have tried taking all plugins off my older sessions doesn't help
I have absolutely no clue what to do, maybe there is a preference that can be deleted or maybe a folder that needs deleting

I have also repaired my disk as well as the permissions

I'm stuck, if you can help me out that would be great

thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2015, 06:31 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,921
Question Re: Pro Tools 11 doesn't work,Sesions open then pro tools stop responding

Which version of Mac OS X are you using? Have you moved all third party plug-ins from /Library/Application Support/Avid/Audio/Plug-Ins to /Library/Application Support/Avid/Audio/Plug-Ins (Unused)? Have you tried another OS X user account?
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2015, 07:18 PM
tronic21's Avatar
tronic21 tronic21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: East Rutherford, NJ
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 doesn't work,Sesions open then pro tools stop responding

I am running OS X 10.10.4 Yosemite
It does give me an option to be put in unused but I thought that then the plugin would not work
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2015, 06:58 AM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,921
Lightbulb Re: Pro Tools 11 doesn't work,Sesions open then pro tools stop responding

Quote:
Originally Posted by tronic21 View Post
It does give me an option to be put in unused but I thought that then the plugin would not work
This is true. If a plug-in is in the unused folder, it is not available for use. Given that you are having problems doing the basics, it might be worth moving all non-Avid plug-ins into the unused folder and seeing if you are then able to create a new session without Pro Tools going into a non-responsive state.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2015, 11:27 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,753
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 doesn't work,Sesions open then pro tools stop responding

It may also be worth trying this trick; hold the SHIFT key while you open a session. That command makes all plugins inactive. USUALLY, if a plugin is the issue, this will allow the session to open, and then you know its plugin-related(helps a bit with troubleshooting)
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2015, 01:14 AM
tronic21's Avatar
tronic21 tronic21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: East Rutherford, NJ
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 doesn't work,Sesions open then pro tools stop responding

Unfortunately I am still having problems its like pro tools picks and chooses, i'll open the session and most of the time it opens and right away stops responding, sometimes I can get maybe 5 minutes before it stops responding 1 time yesterday I got about 30-45 minutes to use it before it stopped responding, I did disable the plugins and it made no difference it just doesn't seem to have a rhyme or reason I can't pick up a pattern like if I hit record, or use the faders or open other windows, it doesn't seem to matter
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2015, 02:27 AM
tronic21's Avatar
tronic21 tronic21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: East Rutherford, NJ
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 doesn't work,Sesions open then pro tools stop responding

Someone had mentioned trying a new account on the mac and I did an still the exact same problem of the session not responding either immediately or 5-10 seconds in
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alt Tab doesn't work when Pro Tools is open weezerboy Pro Tools Software (Win) 15 11-11-2016 03:00 AM
Bought Pro Tools 11(academic), given pro tools 12 licence, doesn't work! TimCollins1311 Pro Tools 11 Discussion 2 03-17-2015 09:52 PM
Mackie MCU + XT midi drop out in Pro Tools HUI errors controller stop responding Tony_Nailz MIDI 5 02-23-2015 08:58 PM
Spacebar doesn't work as start/stop with plugin open Downtown_BE Pro Tools Software (Mac) 6 11-05-2014 07:19 PM
Pro tools doesn't know when to stop! svenhardini 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-05-2009 11:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com