Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #131  
Old 02-11-2019, 02:37 PM
fretfingers fretfingers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 172
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
+1 to all that.....

However I do like the workflow of MIDI in Cubase....but really from what I do with MIDI PT is more than able to fill my needs.

People are always going to find something to complain about. I just think you need to be flexible if something else does something better then use that to do the job..... you know there is no law against.... I’m pretty sure Avid won’t sanction you for it. But some of this sounds a lil petty..... like complaining my fork is useless for eating soup why can’t my fork be like my spoon it can do soup along with a bunch of other things, but your spoon can’t cut the meat..... and the argument goes around in circles. But no we use sometimes several utensils to eat our food sometimes just our fingers. And you could say just using one DAW is in part limiting your tool set. I’m not sure software developers like Avid and others are planning their future software development purely on what others are doing. If that were the case I think the long term R&D of Daw’s per say from all the various players would suffer and in the end, so would we.
But Avid markets Pro Tools as if it CAN be used as a spoon even through it's still very much just a fork. The suggestions I've listed would help to make PT a true spork!
__________________

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018 - Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6
10 Core iMac Pro
64GB RAM - Radeon Pro Vega 56 8176 MB
Apogee Symphony MKII


Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 02-14-2019, 06:58 AM
DeWaard DeWaard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Dordrecht
Posts: 4
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

32 Channel IO limit for Pro Tools!! AVID please remove it, it's the only thing you have to do to keep me in Avid/Pro Tools land. It makes my PT12 and C24 totally unusable!
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 02-16-2019, 12:45 AM
mufi mufi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 5
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Pro Tools:
When you solo a channel and hear nothing. Like I want to listen to something and somebody just slaps me over the ears.
No other daw does this. Like: wtf man he soloed a channel, yah he must be using a console in the 80's, let's give that experience to him. doink.

Sorry, i'm fed up with useless mouse clicking.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 02-16-2019, 12:53 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by mufi View Post
Pro Tools:
When you solo a channel and hear nothing. Like I want to listen to something and somebody just slaps me over the ears.
No other daw does this. Like: wtf man he soloed a channel, yah he must be using a console in the 80's, let's give that experience to him. doink.

Sorry, i'm fed up with useless mouse clicking.
I don’t understand why anyone would want to solo something that’s muted. I really don’t. “Hey where’s that weird frequency coming from?” “I don’t know, why don’t you try the channel that no one’s hearing?” “Great idea”
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 02-16-2019, 01:06 AM
mufi mufi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 5
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

"he must be dumb eng using a mouse and keyboard just for letting time pass"
Me neither.
Also, at least follow the Media Composer workflow, make a source browser. If i want to hear what's outside the bounaries of a clip I must have a separate track for that, expand the clip, solo the track yada yada.
Again, sorry i must have worked too much in Nuendo.
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 02-16-2019, 02:24 AM
Norbertools Norbertools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germania
Posts: 24
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by mufi View Post
Pro Tools:
When you solo a channel and hear nothing. Like I want to listen to something and somebody just slaps me over the ears.
No other daw does this. Like: wtf man he soloed a channel, yah he must be using a console in the 80's, let's give that experience to him. doink.

Sorry, i'm fed up with useless mouse clicking.
I hate this too. It drives me nuts. This is so utterly stupid. Avid please take a look at Logic, that's how it has to work!
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 02-16-2019, 08:41 AM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 822
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

I do it all the time. I might have three guitars, and initially choose to use two of them, and mute the other. Then as you're working on the song, you wonder if the third guitar does something of interest in a certain section. So you want to hear what's in that section.

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
I don’t understand why anyone would want to solo something that’s muted. I really don’t. “Hey where’s that weird frequency coming from?” “I don’t know, why don’t you try the channel that no one’s hearing?” “Great idea”
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 02-17-2019, 11:45 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanrichard View Post
I do it all the time. I might have three guitars, and initially choose to use two of them, and mute the other. Then as you're working on the song, you wonder if the third guitar does something of interest in a certain section. So you want to hear what's in that section.
Well if there’s a real thirst for this to be added then who am I to disagree. Who knows, I may even end up liking it.
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 02-17-2019, 12:43 PM
Benny_Cha_Cha Benny_Cha_Cha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 470
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by mufi View Post
Pro Tools:

When you solo a channel and hear nothing. Like I want to listen to something and somebody just slaps me over the ears.

No other daw does this. Like: wtf man he soloed a channel, yah he must be using a console in the 80's, let's give that experience to him. doink.



Sorry, i'm fed up with useless mouse clicking.


Sounds like you might want to use the AFL/PFL feature.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Ben Rubin

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com
twitter // instagram // facebook // imdb
------------
PT Ultimate 2018.7, Mac Pro 5,1 12-core 3.46, 24Gb RAM, Mac OSX 10.12.6fd, SSD boot drive, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native PCIe, Apogee DA-16X, Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 02-17-2019, 01:21 PM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Yucaipa, California, USA
Posts: 2,096
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by fretfingers View Post
But Avid markets Pro Tools as if it CAN be used as a spoon even through it's still very much just a fork. The suggestions I've listed would help to make PT a true spork!
But I don't want a spork. It sucks at being a spoon, and it sucks at being a fork!
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Behringer X32 Producer
- PT 2018.12 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE with a New MacBook Pro Lacking FW400 acacia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-15-2009 10:29 PM
d24/Mix Farm system lacking TDM power veryathletic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-20-2006 08:22 AM
How is PT lacking in Midi deejfro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 07-28-2005 08:57 PM
XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality??? Jonny Jones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 11-05-2003 06:11 PM
What is lacking in the new Control 24 and the ProControl patdotcom General Discussion 3 03-05-2001 12:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com