Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-25-2009, 04:28 PM

Default multiple Problems with PT HD1 Mac

hi

i have been running a stable pt setup for about 4 years until recently. started to get RTAS CPU memory errors... so i upgraded my RAM from 2 GB to 4 GB (Description: 2GB kit (1GBx2), 184-pin DIMM Upgrade for a Apple Power Mac G5 (Dual 2.0GHz DDR, 4 DIMM sockets) System)... still getting error message - but also, when i replugged my digilink cable back in pt would only give me white noise when i opened a session, and all the meters would be flickering (even with no input)... so i went out and bought a new digilink cable - didn't help... so i reseated the core card... pt worked fine for a minute, then the audio started cutting out... so i trashed my preferences... like 5 times! finally i moved the card from pci slot 1 to slot 2 and it seemed like the problem was solved...

then the other day, at the beginning of a session, just as i was recording a client briefly so they could come and hear what they were sounding like, pt stopped recording, the audio files disappeared, and the program crashed. when i tried to restart, i got multiple errors including DAE "unable to communicate with the audio interface," "digital clock sync was temporarily disrupted," and the insane Neo Assertion error / novella... pt was responding very sluggishly while these errors were showing up and through various restarts... then on the 3rd or 4th restart pt crashed my mac...