Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2020, 11:20 AM
avernon82 avernon82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: 1326 Monterey St
Posts: 32
Default Unable to maintain original timecode locations

I'm getting the message, Unable to maintain original timecode locations with the entered start time because a clip and/or an alternate playlist would exist outside the session boundaries.

I can't for the life of me figure out how to delete everything before where I want my session to start. Any way to force it to start at a certain time cutting off anything that might come before?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2020, 01:16 PM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Playa Vista, CA
Posts: 136
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations

Sometimes it feels like a mystery. Here's what I check:

-all tracks visible
-no visible clips before desired timecode start (obviously)
-no markers (Memory Locations) before the desired timecode start
-no clips in playlists before ... start.

Then go just ahead of the desired timecode start, even just 5 frames, select all tracks, and type command-option-/(forward slash) to create an "anchor point" on all write-able automation lanes on every track.

Then, go back one frame, still with all tracks selected, and type shift-return, to select everything from the beginning of the session to this point just past your desired timecode start.

Then in the edit menu, select "clear special...all automation".

This should maintain the integrity of any automation done AFTER the "anchor point", and clear any automation before your desired start timecode.

You should be able to change your start timecode at this point.

If not, let me know, and we can brainstorm another solution.

G.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2020, 04:27 PM
avernon82 avernon82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: 1326 Monterey St
Posts: 32
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations

Thanks, still not working:-(

Current session start time is 00:00:00:00, and I want the session start time to be 04:59:49:00

At the moment, it won't let me set it to anything other than 00:00:00:00. not even 00:00:00:01.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2020, 04:32 PM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Playa Vista, CA
Posts: 136
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations

Hmm, screenshot of the session? Sure there's nothing in the playlists?

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2020, 04:32 PM
ALowe ALowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 29
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations

Try setting your session length the a few minutes past the end of your song.

Or open all your playlists, select everything and Option H and set later to where you want it to start.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2020, 05:11 PM
avernon82 avernon82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: 1326 Monterey St
Posts: 32
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations

session is too big to screenshot, 324 tracks. Can't get the session end time less than 6 hours, even after selecting all, deleting, also deleting all automation
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2020, 05:12 PM
avernon82 avernon82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: 1326 Monterey St
Posts: 32
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations

also, I don't use playlists
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2020, 05:17 PM
avernon82 avernon82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: 1326 Monterey St
Posts: 32
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations

ok, so I just resorted to selecting my reel, in this case 5, and shifting the whole thing to the start of the session, then changed the timecode to 04:59:49. Never did figure it out
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2020, 05:32 PM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Playa Vista, CA
Posts: 136
Default Re: Unable to maintain original timecode locations

Since the new shortcuts for shuffling through playlists might be accidentally keyed, checking visually can sometimes find a problem, even if you don't use them. I can understand, though, that being a tall order with a session that big.

Additionally, I have occasionally found the errant sub-frame piece of a clip in a similar situation by selecting tracks, then CMD+A with all tracks in waveform view - revealed A TINY clip in an early part of the session that I was able to delete, then change session start time.

Anyway, glad you found a sensible solution.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to maintain original timecode locations... spenedit Pro Tools 12 9 10-02-2015 01:02 PM
import OMF & maintain original timecode pietro79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-11-2010 04:49 AM
import OMF & maintain original timecode pietro79 Post - Surround - Video 8 01-11-2010 01:26 AM
Unable to maintain external clock w/002R generic1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-12-2005 05:25 PM
Maintain timecode when changing session start time Jake Jackson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 05-23-2005 08:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com