Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2019, 08:05 AM
timcrow420 timcrow420 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Hurricane Utah
Posts: 77
Default Changing DAW. Suggestions?

I Currently have the mbox 3 interface with pro tools express. Im getting a new conputer and i no longer have the pro tools express installation disc.

I was just wondering what you guys would recommend for a digital audio workstation preferably one that works with the Mbox 3 interface
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2019, 09:50 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,084
Default Re: Changing DAW. Suggestions?

The Mbox, to work with other programs on a PC, requires an ASIO driver. If you have/can find that, then any DAW that uses the ASIO protocol can use the Mbox. If the ASIO driver is part of the PT Express install, then you're obviously going to need the installer.

Per your other thread, you need to solve the BSOD you're experiencing. That may allow you to continue working with your current computer.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2019, 01:39 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 681
Default Re: Changing DAW. Suggestions?

Mbox asio drivers are available online.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-31-2019, 06:36 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,157
Default Re: Changing DAW. Suggestions?

Give Pro Tools First a shot and see if you still want to stick with PT.
There are plenty of others out there and everyone has their own favorite, so I suggest downloading some demos and seeing what fits your needs.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop user - changing HW engine - suggestions? BCnSTL Pro Tools 11 0 06-26-2014 11:28 AM
Changing note values while changing meter - I'm stumped jrmintz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-30-2011 03:55 AM
changing tempo without changing pitch Sharabelle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-10-2007 05:19 PM
Changing tempo w/out changing midi performance??? toddm7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-12-2005 10:35 AM
changing tempo without changing midi wizdoom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-20-2004 05:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com