Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2019, 11:24 PM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,134
Default Pro Tools on Mojave / High Sierra

Hello,

I am running Pro Tools 2018.12 on High Sierra 10.13.6 and I have to say it is by far the most stable combo on my Imac Pro way back since Snow Leopard !

I know all the replies would be "STICK TO IT" and I am going to stick to it for longtime I guess ... but my curiosity is getting hold of me ... I would like to know since I got the iMac Pro which is the latest Apple model if running Mojave is maybe snappier or faster or better than high sierra ?

Any experiences ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2019, 12:40 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,248
Default Re: Pro Tools on Mojave / High Sierra

My experience is if you're using SSD and APFS then Mojave is slighly better, though unsupported at this time
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2019, 12:51 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Pro Tools on Mojave / High Sierra

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
My experience is if you're using SSD and APFS then Mojave is slighly better, though unsupported at this time
APFS is already ON on high sierra ! and percentage wise .. how much better you think ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2019, 12:57 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,248
Default Re: Pro Tools on Mojave / High Sierra

Quote:
Originally Posted by Becharax View Post
APFS is already ON on high sierra ! and percentage wise .. how much better you think ?
Irrelevant. Percentage is between 0 and 100 and if you have no data to calculate, thinking a number is just as useful as not thinking one.

Just sayin' APFS working a bit better on Mojave than HS
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2019, 01:06 AM
LDS LDS is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 615
Default Re: Pro Tools on Mojave / High Sierra

I have been running 2018.12 on both Mojave and High Sierra. Don't really notice a difference between the two when moving sessions about. Mojave has some neat features, but it also has some pretty irritating aspects as well. It loves asking permission to do stuff. It's like being on Windows 7 all over again. The way the new Mac segregates the headphone output and speakers in CoreAudio is a royal pain the backside. Pro Tools needs to restart when I try and use a set of headphones...

I would stick with High Sierra unless you really need to waste some time upgrading.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2019, 01:27 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Pro Tools on Mojave / High Sierra

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
I have been running 2018.12 on both Mojave and High Sierra. Don't really notice a difference between the two when moving sessions about. Mojave has some neat features, but it also has some pretty irritating aspects as well. It loves asking permission to do stuff. It's like being on Windows 7 all over again. The way the new Mac segregates the headphone output and speakers in CoreAudio is a royal pain the backside. Pro Tools needs to restart when I try and use a set of headphones...

I would stick with High Sierra unless you really need to waste some time upgrading.
So since there is no noticeable difference in speed and snappiness then I am stick to High Sierra !
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2019.6
Logic Pro X
Reason 10.4

Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack SPDIF/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Acoustic Yamaha Guitar
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840

http://equipboard.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Sierra and Pro Tools Upgrade TheEdster75 Pro Tools 2018 42 11-17-2018 10:41 AM
Pro Tools 10 with High Sierra craigdwlr Pro Tools 10 3 10-16-2018 10:41 AM
Pro Tools 11 and High Sierra Cartoonguy Pro Tools 11 34 05-04-2018 03:09 PM
Pro Tools on High Sierra adam79 macOS 2 04-13-2018 05:52 AM
Pro Tools with OS High Sierra (PROBLEMS) B-flores macOS 9 02-06-2018 07:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com