Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2018, 10:46 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,874
Default 2018.7 So Far...

So far... Error free and crash free here. (Windows 10)
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2018, 11:28 AM
Panacci Panacci is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 195
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Any one see -6101 error fixed ? Im on a MAC
__________________
2009 8 Core Mac 5.1, (32 gigs Ram), MacBookPro , 828MKIII Hybrid , 8Pre, OSX High Sierra/Sierra, DP8/9, MachV3, PT12 Vanilla (latest) , Peak 7, Logic 9 ,WaveLab 9, DSP-Quattro ,many plugins , mics and synths. http://www.panaccimusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2018, 11:37 AM
Evil Jack Evil Jack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 490
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Still only qualified for Mac OS 10.13.3?

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...m-Requirements

Good grief Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2018, 11:57 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,199
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Jack View Post
Still only qualified for Mac OS 10.13.3?

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...m-Requirements

Good grief Avid.
support told me it's a very very complex issue, as apple changed something in the OS.. remember, cubase misbehaves too with 10.13.4 and higher...

They said they would get it fixed, i think it was 2 releases from now from memory..

However I hope they also fix the general performance loss in any OS since 12.8.1

we'll see!
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:14 PM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 186
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
However I hope they also fix the general performance loss in any OS since 12.8.1

we'll see!
You hit the nail on the head, performance took a drastic dive in 12.8.2, something got seriously broken in this .x release, that's carried through subsequent updates.

Until they go back and workout what went wrong.. it's unprofessional performance for some of us.

When you've sat behind a Pro Tools rig for 20 years, you kind of get a feeling for when it's really not working correctly.. and my feeling is IT"S BROKE!!
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:21 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,191
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
So far... Error free and crash free here. (Windows 10)
Thanks Tom!
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:26 PM
deerock deerock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 135
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
When you've sat behind a Pro Tools rig for 20 years, you kind of get a feeling for when it's really not working correctly.. and my feeling is IT"S BROKE!!
-->no kidding! u just know it right away! :)
__________________
blender post
'translating your vision into sound'
www.blenderpost.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:40 PM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 263
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Runs smooth here. Does the GUI change a bit or is it just me?
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.5 Native
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:50 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 777
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Runs smooth here too - although I've never had any problems for a long, long time.

Disappointed there's no search box for the Audiosuite menu
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:59 PM
DAWgEAR's Avatar
DAWgEAR DAWgEAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 325
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

The longstanding bug (since 2010) whereby track show/hide memory locations become corrupted when saving a session in playlist view is still unaddressed.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=400093
__________________
Pro Tools HD Native 2018.12 | HD Omni | iMac Pro: 10-Core 3.0 GHZ - 64 GB - 2 TB - Vega 56 | Sonnet Echo Express SE II for PT HD Native PCIe and UAD 2 Quad PCIe cards | Pro Tools Dock
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS 10.13.5 - will PT 2018.4 or .5 work well or stay with 2018.13? blankpro Pro Tools 2018 4 07-11-2018 07:22 PM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb macOS 0 06-27-2018 06:33 AM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 04:41 PM
Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1 jamesleonard Pro Tools 2018 11 03-12-2018 05:21 AM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 05:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com