Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-26-2018, 12:05 PM
RogerPaolo RogerPaolo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Breda, The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Default Re: OLED brightness

I returned the unit under warranty, and I got it back with new OLED's. Good service of AVID!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-27-2018, 11:14 AM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 191
Default Re: OLED brightness

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerPaolo View Post
I returned the unit under warranty, and I got it back with new OLED's. Good service of AVID!

Sweet! that's always good to hear.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-25-2018, 08:28 AM
_charlie_ _charlie_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 7
Default Re: OLED brightness

Glad to hear they fixed yours! Did you go through phone support?

Same issue here - #10 is very dim, below zero in the OLED brightness utility.
#30 is just dead, and is of course one of the ones I need the most.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-25-2018, 11:06 AM
_charlie_ _charlie_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 7
Default Re: OLED brightness

Quote:
Originally Posted by _charlie_ View Post
Glad to hear they fixed yours! Did you go through phone support?

Same issue here - #10 is very dim, below zero in the OLED brightness utility.
#30 is just dead, and is of course one of the ones I need the most.
Unfortunately I've contacted support and they're telling me the unit (under two years old) is out of warranty and that we need to pay USD 1,446.91 to return it for repair!!

Avid expects us to pay 25% of the purchase price to fix two displays? Unless they do the right thing here and fix it, I have a plan: I'll replace it with something that won't show defects (or go back to mixing with a mouse) and sell the old unit. In any case Avid won't see another dollar from us. So much for support... This is exactly what I was afraid of and half-expecting.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-25-2018, 03:28 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,818
Default Re: OLED brightness

Yep. Avid Hardware warranties are only 1 year. It's written on everything that comes with the S3. Pretty bad.

If you bought it with a credit card, I'd check if your card's plan extends that warranty. Or if you bought through a reseller who extends the warranty (like Sweetwater) check with them.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-25-2018, 04:25 PM
_charlie_ _charlie_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 7
Default Re: OLED brightness

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
If you bought it with a credit card, I'd check if your card's plan extends that warranty. Or if you bought through a reseller who extends the warranty (like Sweetwater) check with them.
Yeah, we're going to contact Full Compass and see if they'll help. I wonder if it's possible to purchase & replace the faulty parts.

Isn't a 1 year warranty insufficient on an item that costs five grand?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-25-2018, 07:27 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,979
Default Re: OLED brightness

Quote:
Originally Posted by _charlie_ View Post
Unfortunately I've contacted support and they're telling me the unit (under two years old) is out of warranty and that we need to pay USD 1,446.91 to return it for repair!!

Avid expects us to pay 25% of the purchase price to fix two displays? Unless they do the right thing here and fix it, I have a plan: I'll replace it with something that won't show defects (or go back to mixing with a mouse) and sell the old unit. In any case Avid won't see another dollar from us. So much for support... This is exactly what I was afraid of and half-expecting.
Let me ask around that does seem high. I'm on holiday till next week so might not get back to you until then but message me next week and I'll see what I've found out. Where are you based ?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-25-2018, 07:58 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,979
Default Re: OLED brightness

You can sign up for a year's warranty and have this fixed for less than 1/4 of the cost of a one-off repair. You then get 1 years extra warranty too. I'll give your contact details to someone in Customer Service who can explain it to you before you decide.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-01-2018, 12:52 PM
_charlie_ _charlie_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 7
Default Re: OLED brightness

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
You can sign up for a year's warranty and have this fixed for less than 1/4 of the cost of a one-off repair. You then get 1 years extra warranty too. I'll give your contact details to someone in Customer Service who can explain it to you before you decide.
Thanks - I hadn't realized this was an option. Was it you who sent Bill L. my direction? Thanks for that too!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-01-2018, 03:14 PM
_charlie_ _charlie_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 7
Default Re: OLED brightness

Here's my post-vacation update: As Eddie mentioned and I alluded above, Avid reached out directly and offered us an extended support contract for $249. Enticing as that may be, Full Compass has a "Free repair program" for items past their manufacturer warranty but under two years old. Bingo! Although they're not an Avid authorized repair center, they're a huge Avid dealer. I spoke with someone in their repair department. He said if they couldn't get the parts to fix this from Avid, they'd go ahead and send the whole unit to Avid.

So this is going to get fixed and for the cost of shipping both ways. Chicago to Madison shouldn't be too bad. We're a non-profit, so cost is always a large consideration. I can't tell you how happy I am we bought this from Full Compass!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adjust OLED brightness Artist Transport? bassmagnetic Artist Series 1 02-17-2016 09:14 AM
OLED brightness adjust? lucienpalmer Artist Series 0 10-14-2014 10:10 AM
Sync IO LCD Screen Brightness Siegfried Meier Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-10-2013 11:56 AM
System 5 Brightness Utility PhilippeCNA System 5 2 12-23-2011 01:36 AM
Adjusting brightness of meters on 888? JaredV Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-21-2000 09:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com