Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2018, 03:13 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 173
Default copying automation in controller lanes

Hello,

I have automation occurring in: Controller Lane Mod Wheel (1) and I have Vacuum instantiated. In Vacuum I have called up: LPF Cutoff - and the 'green light' shows it is active.

I want to copy the automation from: Mod Wheel (1) and apply it to: LPF Cutoff. I have tried:Copy> To Current Automation Type - but this command will not apply the Automation to the Controller Lane (LPF Cutoff).

What command am I forgetting? (btw, I have tried everything. i.e.: Copy Special> All Automation, Pan Automation, Plug-in Automation - as well as Paste Special> Merge, Repeat To Fill Section and to Current Automation Type).


For example: When I: Copy> To Current Automation Type - from Mod Wheel (1) to Pitch Bend - the automation will copy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2018, 06:22 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,818
Default Re: copying automation in controller lanes

You are trying to copy MIDI controller data to audio automation lanes. LPF is automation not MIDI CC data. Mod wheel is MIDI CC. Pitch Bend is MIDI data.

That isn't allowed. That isn't the same thing as copying to automation lane type. If you are unclear on what is MIDI data and what is automation, Pro Tools separates the categories in the drop down list for lanes. (on top of which, in parenthesis the CC number is written for CC data)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2018, 07:44 AM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 173
Default Re: copying automation in controller lanes

Oh thats easy to sort out... I thought you could apply the data (drawings, triangles, squares, etc.) to midi cc numbers.

thanks

For those of you interested: Sound Control #6 (75) - (LPF C/O - Vacuum)

Last edited by jamesleonard; 02-18-2018 at 07:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hide automation lanes? [solved] dg27 Pro Tools 11 4 05-27-2017 08:42 AM
Naming Automation Lanes DonaldM Pro Tools 11 2 09-22-2014 10:32 AM
Loosing Controller Lanes in MIDI Editor chuckgreenjr macOS 0 11-02-2012 03:42 PM
Different controller lanes for each channel Polarbear066 Pro Tools 10 2 10-17-2012 03:32 AM
Controller, and Automation lanes. JimC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 05-25-2010 08:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com