Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2015, 07:13 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,044
Default Wierd edit/mix window banking

Running Eucon 3.3 and PTHD 11.3.2.

My Edit window seems to bank around in a most inconvenient way. I've tried MANY combinations ("Auto-Bank to selected" on/off in Eucon) but as long as "Link Track and Edit Selection" is selected (which I like) my Edit window banks to tracks that are currently on the S3 "Auto-assigned" faders no matter where I select. So for example I need to edit a music track at the bottom of my session. If I click in the time-line of the music track my edit window will bank back to the top of my session (moving the Music track I just selected OUT OF VIEW). Turning ON "auto-Bank to selected" fixes the FIRST selection I make, but after that first click it will bank back to THAT position no matter where I select. Is there a way to turn off ALL edit/mix window banking?
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.7.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon 18.3.0.244, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.12.6, 2012 Mac Mini 2.5Ghz i5, 16Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2015, 01:07 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,063
Default Re: Wierd edit/mix window banking

I posted this a while back. I'd really love a mode that mimicked the behavior of the Control|24 or Command 8 in this regard:

Quote:
2.) If I select the "Auto-bank to selected track" preference, it works as advertised. But if I click in the Timeline ruler, it selects the last track in the session. I know I can turn this off with Link Track and Edit Selection, but I need that on for other reasons.
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=369047
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2015, 07:09 PM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Wierd edit/mix window banking

Seems like this whacky edit window banking (for me anyway) is caused by having an "<attentioned/selected track>" assigned on the S3 surface and have "Link track and edit selection" in PTs on as well. When both of these are the case, if I click in any track of the edit window, my whole edit window banks to the top (often moving the selected track OFF THE SCREEN). Banking does NOT happen if I click in an ALREADY SELECTED track. If I remove the <attentioned/selected track> assignment from the S3 surface My edit window does NOT exhibit this banking.
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.7.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon 18.3.0.244, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.12.6, 2012 Mac Mini 2.5Ghz i5, 16Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-2015, 10:49 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 313
Default Re: Wierd edit/mix window banking

Hey Guys,

We're aware of this and looking at fixing it on the PT side. Thanks for your patience while we get this working better for you.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2015, 03:25 PM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Wierd edit/mix window banking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
Hey Guys,

We're aware of this and looking at fixing it on the PT side. Thanks for your patience while we get this working better for you.
Any news on this front?

Other annoying seemingly random banking scenarios:
Anytime I VCA spill (or un-spill) my edit window scrolls to the top.
OR Anytime I click and drag a track's position the edit window scrolls to the top.
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.7.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon 18.3.0.244, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.12.6, 2012 Mac Mini 2.5Ghz i5, 16Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2015, 04:24 PM
jmkeane jmkeane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Default Re: Wierd edit/mix window banking

Moving a track also sends the edit window to the top or some random location.... Avid needs to fix this soon.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2015, 09:57 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Wierd edit/mix window banking

Can anyone confirm or deny they are having these issues with PT12? Just wondering if I can expect improvement when I inevitably bight the bullet in December and move up to 12.
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.7.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon 18.3.0.244, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.12.6, 2012 Mac Mini 2.5Ghz i5, 16Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-19-2015, 01:14 AM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 227
Default Re: Wierd edit/mix window banking

my mix window does funny things as well.

PTHD 12.2.1 S3 latest Eucon and Firmware...
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2018.12, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 19.5.1.44)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 5.97, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2018.12 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-19-2015, 05:17 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Wierd edit/mix window banking

Quote:
Originally Posted by made View Post
my mix window does funny things as well.

PTHD 12.2.1 S3 latest Eucon and Firmware...
Funny like Hah hah?

I know, I know...Funny like not funny at all, just really annoying considering the investment.
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.7.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon 18.3.0.244, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.12.6, 2012 Mac Mini 2.5Ghz i5, 16Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-20-2015, 01:49 AM
Ljudit Ljudit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Främmestad, Sweden
Posts: 16
Default Re: Wierd edit/mix window banking

The same thing happens when I use Soundminer to spot sounds in to Pro Tools. After I've spotted a sound Pro Tools banks to the first track on my S3 and I have to scroll to my imported sound.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi edit window stuck to edit window lvsranch Pro Tools 11 7 04-04-2015 12:42 PM
Edit and Mix window scrolling when banking? jacko Artist Series 1 11-11-2013 04:27 PM
Auto banking mix window? idris Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-13-2011 01:39 AM
Mix window not following C24 banking WildHoney Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-17-2011 02:14 PM
Wierd Edit Window Behavior zenmac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-02-2007 06:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com