Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2015, 10:57 AM
topdiggy2 topdiggy2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 50
Default HELP: Installing PTHD9 & PCIx Core & Process Cards

Hello:

thanks in advance for your help.

I have a system I am trying to configure for someone and I am running into issues.

Mac Pro Intel Xeon 2x dual core 2.gz with PCie slots
OSX 10.6.8
Pro Tools HD 9
1 x Process card (pcix)
1 x CORE HD pcix
1 x pcie to pcix bridge adapter

The issue i am having is install pro tools 9HD and it works fine. When i put the cards in using the pci bridge adapter, the systetem profiler recognizes the cards but Digitest doesnt see the cards in the slots.

System profiler shows the cards are unknown with no driver installed.

How do i install the driver?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2015, 01:01 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 808
Default Re: HELP: Installing PTHD9 & PCIx Core & Process Cards

You cannot use a pci E to pci X bridge adapter. You need a magma pcie to pcix chassis. Pe6r4 model for it to work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2015, 11:59 AM
topdiggy2 topdiggy2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 50
Default Re: HELP: Installing PTHD9 & PCIx Core & Process Cards

@ arche3

Thanks for your reply. And i was already aware of the PE6r chassis solution. However, not trying to be a smart ass at all..but why wouldnt a bridge adapter work? I mean its the same principle just a "extension cord" for the pci bus right?

I guess, im looking for a answer along the lines of "..well, apple writes it in their code.." or something. But, for a networking guy like me it doesnt make sense.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2015, 01:25 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 808
Default Re: HELP: Installing PTHD9 & PCIx Core & Process Cards

I'm not sure why. But I do not think anyone has ever gotten a bridge adapter to work on an apple desktop machine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2015, 01:27 PM
topdiggy2 topdiggy2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 50
Default Re: HELP: Installing PTHD9 & PCIx Core & Process Cards

oh okay...well, that would just about sum it up! lol

Ill ask in a different post...see if anyone has..

thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digidesign 192 (2) + HD Core and Accel Cards (PCIX) N1h1l1ty Buy & Sell 1 07-17-2013 09:48 PM
HD core + 2 process card, both pcix - £600 Grooveguru Buy & Sell 0 02-07-2013 04:53 AM
What is the thermal output/heat load of HD core cards and process cards? yosemitesam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-24-2011 02:39 PM
prottols core cards mix core to hd pci to hd pcix to hd pce Filmusic Windows 1 03-24-2011 04:24 PM
core+accel PCIX, no process card possible? painz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 01-25-2011 01:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com