Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-14-2014, 11:38 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,175
Default Re: PT11 Force Quit Quicktime Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamkimosabi View Post
I keep getting a (Not Responding) On ProTools Quicktime Server...I don't do any video on my PT11 sessions, how come this thing keeps starting up?

Anyone know how to fix this?

Thank you.
Hi, What specific version of Pro Tools?? Are you able to disable the Video Engine?

Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-14-2014, 03:25 PM
iamkimosabi iamkimosabi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: PT11 Force Quit Quicktime Server

11.2.0, and the video engine is already disabled. I don't ever do video on this machine so I never enable it which is why this is weird to me.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-04-2014, 11:15 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 510
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

I just started getting the same errors in Activity Monitor.

I didn't have the problem in the past. I've been running 11.2.1 for a week.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-04-2014, 01:07 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 510
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

Okay, I got a temp fix. I just remembered I was loading an old project with a QT .mov picture. I converted it to DNxHD and the two "QuickTime_OPServer (not responding) errors went away. There is still the "Pro Tools QuickTime Server (not responding)" error when PT launches. but it dons't seem to be a problem.

The important thing is that PT is running again without constant Beach Balls.

EDIT:
I spoke too soon. All three QT errors come back after I work for a little while. The Beach Ball are back too, but they disappear faster.

Last edited by lucienpalmer; 09-05-2014 at 07:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-12-2014, 11:20 AM
iamtbone iamtbone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

any fix for this? having this issue for months on late 103 15inch retina mbp on mavericks and yosaemite
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-14-2014, 07:01 AM
francisrl francisrl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Montréal, QC. Canada.
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

Yeah same problems here:

Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding)
Video Engine seams to be loaded but only displays a black video in the sessions


iMac early-2009, 2.66GHz
8GB RAM
Mavericks 10.9.5
ProTools 11.2.2


What's causing this? It looks like it's been an issue for months, surely somebody would have figure it out by now!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-09-2015, 07:53 AM
stevegalante stevegalante is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Montreal, QC (Canada)
Posts: 1,725
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

Quote:
Originally Posted by francisrl View Post
Yeah same problems here:

Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding)
!

Same here.
PT 11HD on Yosemite
__________________
http://www.stevegalante.com
System details :
ProTools Native card, Ultimate 2019.5, MacPro 5,1 12 Core 3.33GHz, 64Gb RAM, Mojave 10.14.4, Lynx Aurora(n), Raven MTi
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-09-2015, 08:37 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 510
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

I'm currently on 11.2.1, and all of my QuickTime problems have gone away as long as I convert to DNxHD. Occasionally the studio I mix for gives me a ProRes pic, and it'll work, but problems are inevitable if I don't convert it.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-09-2015, 08:40 AM
stevegalante stevegalante is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Montreal, QC (Canada)
Posts: 1,725
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

Actually I'm on 11.3.1HD on Yosemite 10.10.2, I don't work with video but in my Activity Monitor I always have this "Pro Tools QuickTime Server (not responding)" which really I don't know what it is...
__________________
http://www.stevegalante.com
System details :
ProTools Native card, Ultimate 2019.5, MacPro 5,1 12 Core 3.33GHz, 64Gb RAM, Mojave 10.14.4, Lynx Aurora(n), Raven MTi
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-10-2015, 03:03 PM
answerstudios answerstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks

I've got the same happening here on my home rig running 11.3.1 and OS 10.9.5. I get errors about the video engine every so often, but I just ignore them, and the session plays again (for the most part). But I do get CPU spikes a lot that go from 2% to 100% for no apparent reason (except sometimes they coincide with a tempo change in my session).

Please help, AVID, it's pilot season!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks? datooch macOS 21 12-21-2017 12:54 PM
500 Internal Server Error We're sorry but the web server encountered an unexpected c DrumEatDrum Getting Started 10 07-09-2013 11:47 AM
Files transfered server-server relay still downloaded from remote server Phill Barrett Aspera DigiDelivery 1 03-19-2010 01:58 AM
ilok.com - server stopped responding. DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 12-08-2006 01:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com