Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2010, 07:47 PM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

AVID USB 3.0 cards and hard drives are now available to consumers, have been for at least a month.

What is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility testing with Pro Tools?
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2010, 11:41 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,605
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiogeekzine View Post
AVID USB 3.0 cards and hard drives are now available to consumers, have been for at least a month.

What is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility testing with Pro Tools?
Well Windows 7 has been out over 7 months and still nothing official.. so I wouldn't expect anything regarding USB 3.0 for quiet awhile.

However USB 2.0 plugs/devices are compatible with USB 3.0 ports. So i would image everything would work just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2010, 08:51 PM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Yeah not really what I mean though.
I'm hoping they're not going to 'drop the ball' and NOT develop something to utilize the new technology.

I'm asking about moving Forward!

Come on AVID let's move FORWARD!!!
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2010, 09:47 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,605
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

well..... as stated above...7 months, still no official Windows 7 support....

Still no ADC for LE and M-powered........ Still no RTAS 2.0........ still no full 64 bit Pro Tools..... Still no efficient use of multi core processors...... still no unlimited track counts... ect...

I'm sure everything will turn out fine, i mean, how many bad decisions has Avid made


But on a serious note, even though USB 3 is faster... is it any better for constant streams of data? which is why Firewire is preferred over USB.

I really like Intel's Light Peak, that is the direction to go.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:18 PM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Even Kenny is using REAPER now...
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:51 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

It should be backwards compatible. So your USB drive should be as troublesome as ever.

I understand the new spec supposedly supports isochronous transfers and should be more FW like in that its not interrupting the CPU.

I think the status of USB 3.0 is currently this.

A) Intel is not building it into chipsets yet so its not "mainstream".

B) AMD is not building it into their chipsets so its not "mainstream".

C) NVIDIA is not building it into their chipsets so its not "mainstream"

D) The number of available USB 3.0 devices is still extremely small.

E) Apple is not including it on their computers yet.

I think that at least two of the above need to change before Avid is going to look at it closer. The VAST majority of computers DO have USB 2.0 and designing a new interface around little used protocal a seems kinda silly (right now).

Don't get me wrong I think its a good question. I would like to see USB 3.0 storage play nice with PT and some new interfaces to take advantage of it. I just don't see any hurry to to rush it into to production. I would be definitely looking at it hard though.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2010, 09:15 PM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiogeekzine View Post
even kenny is using reaper now...


No you didn't.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-03-2010, 01:23 AM
Brian Hulnick Brian Hulnick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Fransisco, USA
Posts: 46
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

What are the key differences between USB 2.0 and 3.0? And will Apple be introducing USB 3.0 to their 2011 range of Macs?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-03-2010, 04:40 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

I have noticed recently that some of the motherboards used by the custom music computer builders have USB 3.0 ports...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-03-2010, 09:41 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: AVID what is the status of USB 3.0 compatibility with Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
It should be backwards compatible. So your USB drive should be as troublesome as ever.

I understand the new spec supposedly supports isochronous transfers and should be more FW like in that its not interrupting the CPU.

I think the status of USB 3.0 is currently this.

A) Intel is not building it into chipsets yet so its not "mainstream".

B) AMD is not building it into their chipsets so its not "mainstream".

C) NVIDIA is not building it into their chipsets so its not "mainstream"

D) The number of available USB 3.0 devices is still extremely small.

E) Apple is not including it on their computers yet.

I think that at least two of the above need to change before Avid is going to look at it closer. The VAST majority of computers DO have USB 2.0 and designing a new interface around little used protocal a seems kinda silly (right now).

Don't get me wrong I think its a good question. I would like to see USB 3.0 storage play nice with PT and some new interfaces to take advantage of it. I just don't see any hurry to to rush it into to production. I would be definitely looking at it hard though.
E is partly because of A

F) USB 3.0 still lacks a dedicated bus controller

G) Light Peak may rule them all
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE compatibility with AVID VIDEO ironfin Post - Surround - Video 1 08-30-2010 11:33 PM
Compatibility status of MelodyneBridge and PT8 naughty G Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 05-12-2009 04:51 PM
Avid and PT compatibility? nowinner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-06-2007 08:30 AM
System Status vs. CPU Status Chence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-25-2003 12:40 AM
System Status and CPU Status - Please Help Chence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-24-2003 03:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com