Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2009, 12:55 PM
kt90 kt90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: dublin.ireland.
Posts: 18
Default How do you create a Session template ?

Can anyone offer advise on how to set up a session template in pro tools ? I know it can be created but i need info on how it's done and how to open up a new session with a template ?
All info appreciated.
Cheers
Keith
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2009, 01:22 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,631
Default Re: How do you create a Session template ?

This is my method. Create your template session with the proper sample rate and bit depth(this can be created on any drive, including the system drive as you will never actually run it). With your new blank session up on the screen, add all the tracks you will need, add plugins if you want(even calling up presets) and add aux sends and maybe even some VI's(I usually have tracks set with ezdrummer in multi-track mode) and save and close when you are done. Now you can opt to make the file Read Only but I don't bother. Whenever I want that setup, I simply create a new session on my chosen audio drive(same sample rate and bit depth) and immediately go to File>Import Session Data and option click on a track(which will choose all tracks) and click DONE. All the settings and tracks will appear in your new session and the file allocation will default to the correct folder for your new session. If you open the template session and start working with it, intending to save it as something new, your audio may not go where you expect(which is why I use my method).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2009, 02:08 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: How do you create a Session template ?

On the Mac, it works a little differently from how albee describes it..

Get everything set how you want it (tracks, routing, plugs etc.) then save it.

Then, from the Finder, do a "Get Info" on the session document. Somewhere in there, you want to check the box for "save as stationary".

Now, when you want to make a new session from your template, open Protools first (don't open the session to launch Protools). Then, open the template from the file menu. PT will ask you "do you want to create a new session or edit the template?" If you choose new, you will be given a file save dialog that allows you to name the session and move where you want it stored. Note that it will put your new session folder in the template folder if you don't navigate up one level... This is all for PT7.4 and the process may have changed a bit for 8 (I don't have PT8 yet )

It all sounds a lot more complicated than it is...

There are 3 good videos on Digi TV called "Music Template Creation" where Phil shows a bunch of good ideas, like creating your groups, memory locations with view settings, etc etc... Check it out:

Accelerated Videos



..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2009, 06:39 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: How do you create a Session template ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by flommer View Post
the process may have changed a bit for 8
Indeed it has. Saving and Starting Session Template files (.ptt) in Pro Tools 8 is as easy as clicking 'Save As Template' and 'Quick Start Session Dialog'.






filosofem
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2009, 06:46 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: How do you create a Session template ?

Damn... I almost bought the upgrade tonight, and started the long download. I talked myself out of it (shakey financial season and all)....

But now you've given me another reason!!!
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2009, 02:05 PM
kt90 kt90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: dublin.ireland.
Posts: 18
Smile Re: How do you create a Session template ?

thanks for all your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Create Session from Template" --> not showing CR92 Pro Tools 11 0 12-24-2013 06:05 PM
How...Create New session with Session Template TDelmar Tips & Tricks 5 10-22-2008 08:29 PM
How do I create a Mix or Session Template? dougied 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-17-2008 05:38 AM
How do you create a session template in protools7? JAKE @ LOUD Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-24-2006 08:43 AM
How to create a "template" session ? David Every 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-12-2005 07:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com