Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 02-04-2009, 07:20 PM

Default Pt8 sampletank and osx 10.5.6 help!!!

i just bought a macbook pro and i am new to using mac not pt or sampletank

when i first started with protools and sampletank i was using a pc back in 03
so all my instruments have been installed on a ntfs formatted fire wire drive
when i hook the drive up the mac reads everything just fine i can even watch some video files from it
my problem is when i went to ik multimedias site to download and install the mac installer for sampletank 2.5.2 it installed just fine but i can not get sampletank to read the sounds off of the fire wire drive
i go to prefs button in sampletank show it the path and it actually searches the drive but does not list any sounds

i figured that i could keep all my sounds on that ntfs drive and be able to go back and forth from pc to mac and have all my samples in one location
should sampletank be able to read the files or is it because the file was created in a ntfs world and the sampletank engine is in the mac world that it will not work
you would think it will work seeing how the mac can read the ntfs drive with no problems
what can i do to get this to work i would hate to have to have two external drives with the same stuff on it and i really do not want to limit myself to the limitation of fat 32 and its 4 gig file format is there a way to share
Old 02-04-2009, 08:47 PM

Default Re: Pt8 sampletank and osx 10.5.6 help!!!

i found a solution to my own problem

the problem was obvious that the sampletank application in the osx world could not use the sound files that were on the ntfs formatted drive