Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2007, 07:13 AM
mcbv mcbv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 76
Default 002r record to the external HD

I've been using my 002r with the emachines M6811, and recording straight on to the system drive now for a couple of years with no real problems. Recently I purchased an OWC 500 gig externel HD, and I've got it all connected correctly. My question is, will PT now automaticly record to the external HD, or do I have to tell it to record to the external HD instead of the system drive? I vaguely remember when I first set it up a couple years ago, that I had to specify in some menu where (what HD) I wanted my sessions to be recorded.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2007, 07:27 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: 002r record to the external HD

Quote:
I've been using my 002r with the emachines M6811, and recording straight on to the system drive now for a couple of years with no real problems.
Wow, that really surprises me. I used to own the 6811 myself, and could never get any sessions playing off or recording to the system drive without constant HW buffer errors. (which is why they recommend an external drive) Consider yourself one of the lucky ones!
Quote:
My question is, will PT now automaticly record to the external HD
No.
Quote:
do I have to tell it to record to the external HD instead of the system drive?
Yes. When you create new sessions, you would create them on the new drive, and not the system drive.

Your old sessions should be moved to the new drive. The best way to do that is to open them with Pro Tools in their current location, go to File->Save Copy In..., choose the new drive as the save location and make sure to check the "All Audio Files" (and any other important items for your particular session) under the "Items to Copy" section. Once the session has been moved, you can/should delete it from the system drive.

Before moving or changing any current sessions make sure to do a backup, just to be safe.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2007, 09:46 AM
mcbv mcbv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 76
Default Re: 002r record to the external HD

Thanks for the info!

I previously copied my pt files to the external HD by drag & drop. It seems to have
copied them ok...is there anything wrong with doing it that way that I may be overlooking?

I'm glad to know about the buffer error history with the system drive...it was an occasional problem. I thought it was just something I had to deal with. I do remember a few times when I almost threw the laptop through the window when it stopped recording and gave me the buffer error right at the end of a difficult performance... All those re-takes made me a better musician though
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2007, 11:46 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,629
Default Re: 002r record to the external HD

The safer way to move sessions from one drive to another is: open the original session and go FILE>SAVE SESSION COPY IN> select your new drive and make sure to check boxes for copying all audio files, fade files, etc.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice re external DAC and ADC for 002R ? luts 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-22-2008 12:27 PM
Please Explain How to use External DA with 002R.....? luts 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-20-2007 03:52 AM
002R and external clocking? How do you do it? nickdahl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-14-2007 04:54 PM
002r with external reverb therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-11-2006 05:04 PM
using external gear on a 002r DJ Insomaniac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-24-2004 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com