Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2005, 08:57 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default keep the fader UNDO and edits UNDO separate

I wish the undo for fader moves was a different type of undo than the undo for edit moves and other stuff. It is inconvenient when editing and undoing and simultaneously adjusting fader levels for auditioning arrangements. It's also dangerous... record a take, make some fader moves, undo 1 undo too far.... move a fader.... and your take is gone. A stupid accident, but still, I wish the undo were separate types of undos.

Yeah.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2005, 09:18 PM
c-tone c-tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,091
Default Re: keep the fader UNDO and edits UNDO separate

Agreed. But I would take it further and again ask for "selective undo". This undo list as it exists now really does not help at all, in that you still need to undo everything you have done after the thing you really want to undo. The only real improvement made is that you can undo fader moves now, which does help me. What I want is to be able to scroll down the und list and just undo the one thing that needs undoing, which is what I thought they meant when they introduced the undo queue back around 6.7, but was sadly dissapointed when I found out what it wasn't.
__________________
www.clifnorrell.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2005, 09:31 PM
BDWillis BDWillis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Posts: 559
Default Re: keep the fader UNDO and edits UNDO separate

AMEN... I COULDN'T AGREE MORE!!

This one "feature enhancement" has been more hassle than any other I can remember. It's helpful when mixing, but during editing it's counter-intuitive & COMPLETELY counter-productive to the workflow. Aaarrrgggh.....

PLEASE, Digi, do the right thing: make this a Preference selection.

Warmest Regards,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2005, 07:46 AM
trakbytes trakbytes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 845
Default Re: keep the fader UNDO and edits UNDO separate

There's always the "re-do"command...

You whiners need to quit making so many mistakes!
__________________
Save early and often! (or once a day whether you need to or not...)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2005, 09:25 AM
filmixer filmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 949
Default Re: keep the fader UNDO and edits UNDO separate

A separate automation pass "tree" is something Digi needs to make happen soon. They know, and I hope we'll see this along with a regular Master/Slave grouping style and other automation enhancements in the next PT7 update. It'll happen.
__________________
Mark Ettel C.A.S.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2005, 09:30 AM
BDWillis BDWillis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Posts: 559
Default Re: keep the fader UNDO and edits UNDO separate

Quote:
There's always the "re-do"command...
Been there, used it — believe it or not. However, doing the undo-redo dance requires getting "out of the zone" to make sure you're zapping just the right action, so desirable changes aren't lost for good. At best it's a momentum killer.

As to mistakes, some of 'em are good ones... and some of us know which ones those are!!

Digi, I stand by my original position & request this as a Preference option, hecklers be damned.

Warmest Regards,
Brian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What can you undo? nburbank Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 11-14-2018 11:03 PM
Cannot Undo Fader moves in pro tools HD 9 ARylands macOS 1 03-15-2012 11:17 AM
Suddenly no Undo for Fader moves....????!!! leononeill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-14-2010 07:41 AM
Fader moves not included in undo cue? Dopamine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-30-2010 05:39 PM
I can't undo record audio, I CANT UNDO !!! Dither16bit Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 06-09-2004 01:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com