Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:30 AM
Robert Mattsson Robert Mattsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
Default Connecting Midi gear to LE?

Hi again,

Just bought an MBOX for my G4 Powerbook. Haven´t invested in Midi gear yet though.

Just a short question, do I connect my Midi controller (or interface) directly into one of the USB ports of the laptop or does it go through the Mbox somehow?

If there is just one USB port, would that mean that one can only use one at the time - Midi interface or Mbox?

Cheers!

Rob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2005, 04:15 AM
Runaway Runaway is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 77
Default Re: Connecting Midi gear to LE?

Assuming you are using PTLE 6.9.2 on OSX 10.4.1....

http://www.digidesign.com/compato/osx/mbox/midi.cfm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2005, 04:52 AM
Robert Mattsson Robert Mattsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
Default Re: Connecting Midi gear to LE?

Thanks Runaway!

So if I understood it right, you need to connect your Midi controller into a Midi Interface, for example a Digidesign Midi I/O, and then connect the USB-output into the Mbox. But the Mbox does not have an USB input??? Or are you supposed to connect the USB output directly into your laptop?

Regarding the output of your sound module, I guess that you connect that straight into an audio input of your Mbox while mixing.

Cheers,

Rob
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2005, 04:56 AM
Gkyaun Gkyaun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta GEORGIA, Usa, earth
Posts: 151
Default Re: Connecting Midi gear to LE?

well, mbox doesnt have any sort of MIDI I/O, so you have to get a seperate one, and if it's usb, then just run it into another usb port on your computer.
__________________
sincerly mine, always and forever,
Gkyaun

go left next time
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Outboard Gear? Mbox 3 Pro philip888 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 7 04-09-2015 12:28 PM
Best Practices on connecting external gear SoundReplay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-21-2009 07:13 PM
Connecting outboard gear to the 96 i/o digitally CStern Tips & Tricks 2 08-04-2006 07:19 PM
Outboard gear and connecting to 002 Doug May 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-06-2006 05:59 AM
Connecting external gear tonedef 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-21-2005 09:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com