Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:13 AM
Gwyn ap Harri Gwyn ap Harri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 55
Default new mac mini setup

Hi, I've been using PCs for my proTools set up, but I couldn't resist the mac mini for my home mbox setup.

I'm going to share my 19" tft and peripherals by using some kind of switch - can anyone help on this matter? do I need a usb keyboard? my monitor has DVI as well as VGA. my system speakers have two inputs, so i think that'll be ok. the rest of my peripherals are usb, so I'm planning on getting a HUGE usb hub type thing, that I can plug in/out, or a switch... any suggestions?

The big question I've got is I obviously need an external drive to share data and to plug into my mac mini.

USB? Firewire 400 or firewire 800??? and are those 2.5" ones any good (powered by USB, put in your pocket?)

Or do I just use garageband........

Gwyn
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
__________________
There are far more important things than important things
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2005, 08:32 AM
yOkO yOkO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: aztekland
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: new mac mini setup

i´ll go for the garage with the 2.5¨thing
__________________
so what
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2005, 11:56 AM
yin7yang64 yin7yang64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Evanston, IL U. S. A.
Posts: 254
Default Re: new mac mini setup

I use the IOGear MiniView to switch the keyboard and mouse between my PowerMac and PowerBook in my home studio. It'll also switch a single display, too.

http://www.kvm-switches-online.com/gcs1712.html

I'd stick with a FireWire external drive, though. You don't want to be trying to pipe audio data through a crowded USB bandwidth. Best solution might be a speedy drive that's both USB and FireWire equipped. I've always found more flexibility is a good thing in the computer world: I'm always having to come up with workarounds. A lot of my sessions travel back and forth to work on a portable FireWire drive. It's been a great asset when clients have last minutes changes.

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/hard-.../2.5-Notebook/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2005, 01:26 PM
DaleC DaleC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 21
Default Re: new mac mini setup

I have been curious to know how a Mini would do with an Mbox.

By all means use a Firewire drive but having the USB option as well may be good.
IOgear has a page for the Mac Mini actually.
You do need a USB keyboard or a USB/PS2 adaptor but I would recommend a Logitech keyboard that has both the Mac and Windows buttons on it.
Also, make sure you have at least 512 MB RAM to run LE.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2005, 08:28 PM
yavuzj yavuzj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,039
Default Re: new mac mini setup

I use Raritan Switchman USB with my MAC Mini.
It has 4 port USB2.0 Hub as well as seperate USB mouse and KB connections. It also helps me share my Dell LCD Tv between my Dell 2350 and Mac Mini. I think it is the ONLY KVM switch with USB2.0 hub.
The whole setup works well with my 002R.
__________________
Yavuz AKYAZICI
Guitar Player, Composer
http://cdbaby.com/cd/volcano
http://volcanojazz.com
http://myspace.com/volcanojazz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-02-2005, 12:28 AM
Gwyn ap Harri Gwyn ap Harri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 55
Default Re: new mac mini setup

Thanks for the advice!

I've ordered a maxtor 300GB one touch II external with both usb & firewire, and a raritan switchman.

So, formatting wise, I use the FAT32 format do I? Are there any issues I should look out for sharing data between Mac & PC?

Thanks again
__________________
There are far more important things than important things
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-02-2005, 12:55 AM
yavuzj yavuzj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,039
Default Re: new mac mini setup

You can do it two ways.
  • 1. Use MacDrive and format your drives HFS+
  • 2. Use FAT 32.

Using FAT 32 is a bit tricky if you use Windows for formatting.
Windows can only format 32 GB or smaller FAT 32 partitions.
THe bigger ones need to be NTFS.
You either have to create 8 or 9 32GB FAT 32 partitions, (which may sound silly)
or buy a program like Partitionmagic Pro.
I would use a program like PartitionMagic and format the drive FAT32.
MacDrive may be problematic at times eventhough it works excellent if you know what you are doing.
__________________
Yavuz AKYAZICI
Guitar Player, Composer
http://cdbaby.com/cd/volcano
http://volcanojazz.com
http://myspace.com/volcanojazz
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-02-2005, 02:08 PM
Gwyn ap Harri Gwyn ap Harri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 55
Default Re: new mac mini setup

oh, I thought it would be easier than this?

So does partition magic stitch these separate partitions together?

Does Mac Drive slow things down? Can I use my mac to format the drive in FAT32 with a bigger partition?

What do you guys do?

Thanks, Gwyn
__________________
There are far more important things than important things
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-02-2005, 06:46 PM
yavuzj yavuzj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,039
Default Re: new mac mini setup

Quote:
oh, I thought it would be easier than this?
I know what you mean.

Quote:
So does partition magic stitch these separate partitions together?
No, it is just possible to create and format bigger partitions with PMagic.
Windows can also format big partitions but not in FAT32. Just NTFS.
If you want FAT32 you have to go 32GB or smaller or let PMagic format it for you.
3rd option would be to find a Windows 98 FDisk utility diskette and use that to format FAT32 bigger than 32Gb.

Quote:
Does Mac Drive slow things down? Can I use my mac to format the drive in FAT32 with a bigger partition?
No,. Once you get it working it is transparent.
I have lost 24Gb of files with it once.
I do not want to scare you but if things go wrong, you CAN loose data.
I would backup everything before using MACDrive.
Other than that, once you get it working it is transparent to the user.

Quote:
What do you guys do?
I have a networked FW400 Lacie d2 for just file sharing over the network.
I use another Lacie d2 USB2.0 just for recording and audio samples.
I do not go back and forth between my MAC and PC though.
__________________
Yavuz AKYAZICI
Guitar Player, Composer
http://cdbaby.com/cd/volcano
http://volcanojazz.com
http://myspace.com/volcanojazz
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-2005, 08:22 AM
Gwyn ap Harri Gwyn ap Harri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 55
Default Re: new mac mini setup

I got the raritan switch, and set it up. It switches fine, but my screen seems really dull ie white is grey. it looks like this straight from my VGA adapter, but not my DVI output.

And now when I plug my DVI into my mac, I can't get the screen to display.

Argh!

Any advice, anyone????

Gwyn

Quote:
I use Raritan Switchman USB with my MAC Mini.
It has 4 port USB2.0 Hub as well as seperate USB mouse and KB connections. It also helps me share my Dell LCD Tv between my Dell 2350 and Mac Mini. I think it is the ONLY KVM switch with USB2.0 hub.
The whole setup works well with my 002R.
__________________
There are far more important things than important things
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Mini not in my Hardware Setup in 10. bespokennyc macOS 1 04-22-2012 04:19 PM
Setup for PT LE Mbox2 Mini Win XP system karkkola 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-13-2010 11:49 AM
Need help with Mbox2 Mini setup. playgirist 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-09-2008 08:58 AM
Mac Mini setup anyone? joe.cavers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-12-2008 07:43 AM
Should be simple right? digi002 to Mini-Me setup mushmouth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-17-2008 09:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com