Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2005, 10:44 AM
fabpab fabpab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 347
Default hmm anyone switch between pc/mac?

hey there.. me AGAIN!!

Ok heres the thing

i got 1 monitor 1 keys 1 mouse and a pc and a mac...

i wana switch between the mac mini and pc using the 1 set of keys mouse and monitor...

the switch box i have switched 2 pc's (ie monitor and 2 sets of ps2 connectors)
the mac mini i have uses USB for keys and mouse..

do you think but putting ps2 to usb changers on the switch boxes end that it will work???

i ask becasue the switch box relies on all 3 connections (mouse keys and monitor) to be connected before it works..

see my little predicament?? LOL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2005, 11:28 AM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: hmm anyone switch between pc/mac?

Quote:
hey there.. me AGAIN!!

Ok heres the thing

i got 1 monitor 1 keys 1 mouse and a pc and a mac...

i wana switch between the mac mini and pc using the 1 set of keys mouse and monitor...

the switch box i have switched 2 pc's (ie monitor and 2 sets of ps2 connectors)
the mac mini i have uses USB for keys and mouse..

do you think but putting ps2 to usb changers on the switch boxes end that it will work???

i ask becasue the switch box relies on all 3 connections (mouse keys and monitor) to be connected before it works..

see my little predicament?? LOL
I did that with 2 pcs actually and it worked.
Bought them for less than a dollar at www.newegg.com

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:32 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,088
Default Re: hmm anyone switch between pc/mac?

You need a KVM - ( keyboard-video-mouse) that is an auto switcher. Double click the Scroll LOock key and the KVM switches to the other comoputer automatically. It doesn't care if you plug a PS2 mouse or USB mouse - as long as you use the correct adapters, the correct signal will be sent.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External talkback mic/switch/cuelight switch Pete Gates Post - Surround - Video 3 03-16-2011 01:53 AM
If I switch from PC to Mac... Rammelt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-08-2008 09:35 PM
Switch Mac Mbox to Windows - and then switch back bluesigns 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-07-2004 09:50 AM
OT: Best USB KVM switch for Mac and PC valvebrother 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-01-2002 02:51 PM
Using a Switch instead of a Hub osman ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 3 01-25-2001 04:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com