Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-28-2018, 03:07 PM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 258
Default Re: AVB Bug Fixed in OSX 10.13.2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfsetse View Post
I can confirm that 10.13.6 continues to be affected.
For S3L only. S6L with VENUE 5.7.1 has a workaround for this bug.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-20-2018, 08:06 AM
nahuo10 nahuo10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: buenos aires
Posts: 5
Default Re: AVB Bug Fixed in OSX 10.13.2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valentyn View Post
For S3L only. S6L with VENUE 5.7.1 has a workaround for this bug.
How is that workaround performed?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-21-2018, 04:24 AM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 258
Default Re: AVB Bug Fixed in OSX 10.13.2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nahuo10 View Post
How is that workaround performed?
Workaround in S6L firmware to discover and ignore certain Apple bug.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-29-2018, 10:27 AM
sfsetse sfsetse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Zürich Switzerland
Posts: 14
Default Re: AVB Bug Fixed in OSX 10.13.2?

My initial testing with macOS Mojave indicates that Apple have fixed the bug.

I'm getting clean results with the following setup:
- S3L-X (4.6.1.4)
- MacBook Pro, 13-inch, Early 2015 (macOS Mojave 10.14.0)
- ProTools (2018.7.0)

I've also tested the playback of a 64-channel recording with Waves Tracks (1.3) with absolutely no clicking.
__________________
Kate Ward
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-14-2018, 01:45 AM
JLCnew JLCnew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 2
Default Re: AVB Bug Fixed in OSX 10.13.2?

I can confirm, even not supported, Mojave 10.14 works perfect with
ProTools 2018.10 and S3L.

Perfect during recording (2 hours 45 minutes show), perfect while playing back.

Recording HD was a samsung SSD T5, 500GB, via USB on:
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014), 2,5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

I will check S6L next week.

Best
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-15-2018, 11:18 AM
HLD HLD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 79
Default Re: AVB Bug Fixed in OSX 10.13.2?

Anyone else testing the S3L with Mojave and PT? How does it seem to behave?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-16-2018, 01:59 AM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 258
Default Re: AVB Bug Fixed in OSX 10.13.2?

Not tested S3L yet, but with S6L (which does support High Sierra) we're getting mixed results and thus we don't recommend using it. In some of our machines with Mojave, one direction is just not receiving audio for recording (playback is fine) and the problem seems to be on the OS X side. Theoretically the same should effect S3L.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-19-2018, 02:26 PM
JLC JLC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Europe
Posts: 128
Default Re: AVB Bug Fixed in OSX 10.13.2?

I can confirm, even not supported, Mojave 10.14 works perfect with
ProTools 2018.10 and S6L v6.

Perfect during recording (5 hours non stop rehearsal), perfect while playing back.

Recording HD was a samsung SSD T5, 500GB, via USB3 on:
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014), 2,5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

I will keep checking

Best
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-20-2018, 12:51 AM
sfsetse sfsetse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Zürich Switzerland
Posts: 14
Default Re: AVB Bug Fixed in OSX 10.13.2?

I received a DM a couple weeks ago from an individual asking how I got it to work. I didn't do anything special in my setup, so I'm not sure why it would work one way and not the other. I unfortunately wasn't able to reply to them due to their messaging settings.

One thing I would say is that I've only had consistent results by connecting to port #3 on the E3 engine, as recommended in the manual. Ports #1 and #2 give inconsistent results, and I frequently had issues where the S3L wouldn't recognise my Mac at all (although the Mac could see the S3L), making it impossible to use. In the cases where I need to connect my S3L console to the E3 engine via port #3 (because #1 and #2 are part of a closed loop to my stage boxes), then I connect the computer to the second port on the S3L with good results.
__________________
Kate Ward
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-31-2019, 01:12 PM
HLD HLD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 79
Default Re: AVB Bug Fixed in OSX 10.13.2?

Have any more tested S3L with Mojave yet? I´d like to update my mac, but still a bit worried on compatibility.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12.8 - Bugs Fixed (or not fixed) ? Seafoam_Green Pro Tools 12 23 06-28-2017 08:32 PM
Is the AVE really fixed in 12.7.1 HD? Ginger Post - Surround - Video 27 06-11-2017 05:24 PM
EC3.2.2 bugs claimed to be fixed still not fixed Frank Kruse Artist Series 10 07-01-2015 12:10 PM
8.0.3 - Looks like CPU bug is fixed cburgett Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 12-18-2009 08:34 AM
Its fixed !!!!!! Thanks DUC mspin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-09-2007 02:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com