Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2018, 04:04 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,028
Default Large delay/latency when using hardware inserts on Omni

Hi,

I get a lagre delay/latency when I use my Cl1b as a hardware insert in Pro Tools Ultimate. Is this normal behaviour?

I'm planing on getting another compressor Retro 176 befor christmas. What happens with the latency in PT if I connect another compressor.
Will I get 2x the latency or will it stay the same?
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2018, 09:58 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,629
Default Re: Large delay/latency when using hardware inserts on Omni

How much latency? HDN or HDX? Going out and back with an analog insert should be fairly short(buffer setting plus conversion time to analog and back)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2018, 10:28 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,053
Default Re: Large delay/latency when using hardware inserts on Omni

What interface? What is your IO buffer size? What is the latency you measure? They should agree? ... allow 2X for output and input.

Another analog compressor used in a separate hardware insert, or physically chained with this one is not going to increase the latency... unless you chain effects back through Pro Tools and out as another hardware insert again (uh don’t do that).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2018, 01:37 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,475
Default Re: Large delay/latency when using hardware inserts on Omni

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
Hi,

I get a lagre delay/latency when I use my Cl1b as a hardware insert in Pro Tools Ultimate. Is this normal behaviour?

I'm planing on getting another compressor Retro 176 befor christmas. What happens with the latency in PT if I connect another compressor.
Will I get 2x the latency or will it stay the same?



Hi,


I get 69 samples delay with my CL-1B Used as an hardware insert using matching inputs and outputs? otherwise delay comp doesn't work. this is with a 256 buffer on PT10 HD




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2018, 09:42 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,629
Default Re: Large delay/latency when using hardware inserts on Omni

Are you trying to track with hardware inserts? That may be hoping for too much I track with hardware comps and/or EQ's, but they are in-line(between the preamps and the interface) so they don't incur any additional latency. While mixing, I prefer to stay in the box(but latency should not be an issue during mix as long as ADC is working).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2018, 12:24 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,028
Default Re: Large delay/latency when using hardware inserts on Omni

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
How much latency? HDN or HDX?
HDN. I get over 2000 samples delay.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2018, 12:33 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,028
Default Re: Large delay/latency when using hardware inserts on Omni

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Are you trying to track with hardware inserts?
No. I connect one of the DB25 outputs on my Omni into my CL1b wich again goes back into the corresponding input line on Omni. I then select a I/O insert and get over 2000 samples delay on that channel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I track with hardware comps and/or EQ's, but they are in-line(between the preamps and the interface)
I too do this 99.9% of the time. I just wanted to compare my hardware CL1b to my Softube Cl1b in a mixing situation.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hardware inserts and delay compensation PT8 PointStudios macOS 0 10-09-2014 04:23 AM
how to get 4 x hardware inserts with AVID OMNI / PT HD outoftune Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 04-04-2014 08:53 AM
Delay compensation with hardware inserts d.f. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 03-10-2009 11:57 PM
delay on hardware inserts georgedk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-18-2004 03:42 AM
latency on hardware inserts vtone Tips & Tricks 4 10-22-2000 05:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com