Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2018, 06:52 PM
Guitarman002 Guitarman002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 80
Default Editing on another computer

I would like to know if I can do editing on a laptop away from my main Mac Pro setup which is connected to HD Native, Eleven Rack and an external SSD which has my Komplete 11 libraries. If I create a song on my Mac Pro with all of the peripherals can I do some editing to "clean up" a composition on a laptop not connected to all of the peripherals without having problems?

I'm considering a MacBook Pro just for that purpose but would like to know the details before I purchase. I'm hoping that all I need to carry over to the laptop for editing is the iLok dongle and a copy of the song. Thanks in advance for comments and input.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2018, 07:20 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,629
Default Re: Editing on another computer

Should be no issues doing this. You might do a little fussing with IO since the MBP will(I assume) use CORE audio, but, that might be less of a bother if you go into the IO setup page>Output tab and name the output(on the MBP) with the same name as the main output on your big setup. Just save session copies to a pocket-sized external SSD(or some other method of making sessions portable)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2018, 07:26 PM
Guitarman002 Guitarman002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 80
Default Re: Editing on another computer

Thanks Albee....great tip.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2018, 01:28 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,247
Default Re: Editing on another computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guitarman002 View Post
I would like to know if I can do editing on a laptop away from my main Mac Pro setup which is connected to HD Native, Eleven Rack and an external SSD which has my Komplete 11 libraries. If I create a song on my Mac Pro with all of the peripherals can I do some editing to "clean up" a composition on a laptop not connected to all of the peripherals without having problems?

I'm considering a MacBook Pro just for that purpose but would like to know the details before I purchase. I'm hoping that all I need to carry over to the laptop for editing is the iLok dongle and a copy of the song. Thanks in advance for comments and input.
Yeah I do this all the time. I have a portable “work” drive which is a mirror of the “work” drive on my main computer. As long as you remember your iloks and make sure your software is as near as dammit you shouldn’t have any problems.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2018, 08:06 AM
Guitarman002 Guitarman002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 80
Default Re: Editing on another computer

Thanks midnight rambler. Now to order one of those 6 core i9 MacBook pros!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer experts have you heard of this computer maker? garnoil General Discussion 3 07-07-2013 06:05 PM
Editing on second computer James and Julieah Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 10-05-2008 02:29 PM
Digi 001 computer out to computer Cable Question dbguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-28-2004 03:29 PM
OT - Best computer for video editing? Aussie169 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 05-11-2004 12:25 AM
question : can i copy/paste all my computer hard/soft to other computer . for a gig. sandman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-10-2001 08:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com