Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-04-2018, 03:16 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,809
Default Re: 2018.4 cpu spiking all over the place

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomstephens89 View Post
I have read elsewhere that Nvidia drivers and pro tools disagree.
4 systems with Nvidia and they all work flawlessly. All HDX. So nope.
But all Macs.

However, 96k with 64 buffer isn't really supported. 128 is the minimum. 3.5 ms vs 5.3 ms.

Oh well, to each their own.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-05-2018, 01:08 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,630
Default Re: 2018.4 cpu spiking all over the place

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomstephens89 View Post
I do wonder if this is somehow related to the fact I have an Nvidia quadro in my system and pro tools disagrees with it.

I have read elsewhere that Nvidia drivers and pro tools disagree.
Just the opposite. nVidia is preferred
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-06-2018, 07:15 AM
risey's Avatar
risey risey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 160
Default Re: 2018.4 cpu spiking all over the place

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomstephens89 View Post
I do wonder if this is somehow related to the fact I have an Nvidia quadro in my system and pro tools disagrees with it.

I have read elsewhere that Nvidia drivers and pro tools disagree.
Hi there, I have been using PT for years and always had an NVIDIA card installed, never a problem. Now.... the CPU spike could be caused by your Audio card you are using especially USB based audio cards. I noticed while using my 18i20 2nd gen (USB) I would get spikes, but when using my Mbox Pro 3 which is a firewire audio card I had zero spikes.

So try updating your USB drivers first for your motherboard, update to the latest bios also. CPU microcodes are being updated regularly since the intel revelation months ago which brings me to my next point. My previous CPU was an i7 5960x when windows rolled out a microcode update followed by my motherboard manufacture rolling out a bios update I lost 20% performance and had loads of spikes when using pro tools. In the end I built a new system around an i7 8700k and although that CPU is also affected by the microcode mess by intel the hit is far less noticeable.

One thing you could do is check which core is receiving the spikes and disable it for Pro Tools. Pro Tools multicore support to be honest is not that great, Avid shifts the blame onto 3rd party plugins but that is another topic, but what used to happen on the first version of Pro Tools 12 is that core zero (first core) would spike causing 100% usage report while other cores were almost dormant, for some users this could cause PT to crash.

An old gamers trick can temp fix this. Check which core is spiking the most, if it is the first core you can disable this and leave that core for your system, to do this run pro tools, then go to TASK MANAGER, look for Pro Tools, right click on it and choose GO TO DETAILS, right click the avid or pt exe it has chosen and choose SET AFFINITY, untick core zero. This will now free up core zero to system processes and PT will not use it, when u restart Pro Tools it will reset itself again so you will need to go through the same process.
If another core is spiking just do the same on that core but leave core zero active and see if the work load is then distributed more evenly amongst the cores.
__________________
http://www.PhatMonkey.me
Windows 10 64bit | Asus Rog Hero Xi | Intel i9-9900K | Corsair LPX Vengeance 64g DDR4 RAM | Avid Mbox Pro 3 | Focusrite 18i20 2nd Gen | MSI RTX 2080TI Gaming X Trio | Acer Z35 Predator Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-06-2018, 09:13 AM
jjnssn jjnssn is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 526
Default Re: 2018.4 cpu spiking all over the place

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomstephens89 View Post
I do wonder if this is somehow related to the fact I have an Nvidia quadro in my system and pro tools disagrees with it.



I have read elsewhere that Nvidia drivers and pro tools disagree.


I have been using quadro cards on my last 3 pc builds. P1000 recently. Works very well. Nvidia driver has highest DPC latency spikes however well below any level of concern.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-06-2018, 12:32 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,809
Default Re: 2018.4 cpu spiking all over the place

Quote:
Originally Posted by risey View Post
Now.... the CPU spike could be caused by your Audio card you are using especially USB based audio cards. I noticed while using my 18i20 2nd gen (USB) I would get spikes, but when using my Mbox Pro 3 which is a firewire audio card I had zero spikes.
Doesn't have to do with USB. Has to do with Focusrite having bad USB drivers. They've had a lot of problems with their drivers for the USB series and Pro Tools.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-11-2018, 06:22 AM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 320
Default Re: 2018.4 cpu spiking all over the place

OP, I can run small sessions with no plugins at 96k and 64 sample buffer. However, there is a lot of CPU spiking going on and it is not reliable. It's just part and parcel of how PT processes audio.

If I'm recording, I'll keep my sample buffer between 128 and 512.
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-12-2018, 08:31 AM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,193
Default Re: 2018.4 cpu spiking all over the place

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomstephens89 View Post
I do wonder if this is somehow related to the fact I have an Nvidia quadro in my system and pro tools disagrees with it.

I have read elsewhere that Nvidia drivers and pro tools disagree.

Try with a different driver, or if you can a GT series board, a $ 50 works just fine. ProTools doesn't rely heavily like MC does on the Quadro series
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Custom Mac Pro OSX Sierra | Windows 10 Pro 64 | ProTools HD 2018 | Pyramix V 10 | Merging HAPI ADA8 | MBox 3 | UAD Quad PCIe | Avid Artist Mix | Kali LP-6 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb macOS 0 06-27-2018 06:33 AM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 04:41 PM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 05:01 PM
CPU spiking 11.1.1 wesm Pro Tools 11 8 01-07-2014 05:58 PM
Cpu spiking cmotard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-15-2010 08:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com