Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 01-29-2010, 01:25 AM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 806
Default Re: MAJOR delay compensation problem! Very strange!

Quote:
Originally Posted by storm-01 View Post
......drum recording.....

Example:

12 mono Aux tracks each with an EQ (such as REQ 6)
Drums come in the aux inputs and then ouputs of aux tracks are going to inputs on mono AUDIO tracks so that I can print the EQ to the audio track. I do it this way because I don't have enough outboard EQs.

......
Just to play the devil's advocate.... why on earth would you record your plugin EQs to your drum audio - in this day and age of RTAS horsepower?

I mean - simply RTAS EQ your drums * after * they are recorded... so you can make changes in the mix. You gain * nothing * sonically by printing your plugins.... and you are locked in to the EQ.

If it was great sounding hardware EQ that only existed at the tracking studio - I can see it.... but printing plugin EQ? I don't get it.

peace.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-29-2010, 03:30 AM
masterduk masterduk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 164
Default Re: MAJOR delay compensation problem! Very strange!

Quote:
Originally Posted by O.G. Killa View Post
This is totally just a shot in the dark... but in the IO setup window, the "Compensate for Output Delays after record pass" and/or "Compensate for input delays after record pass" might be nuding the audio files AFTER you record in order to compensate for delays present in the mixer when you have ADC turned on while tracking... That could be why it goes back in phase when ADC is turned off and goes out again when ADC is turned on (because you are delaying the signal twice with ADC on, if it really did nudge the audio after record pass).

Could it be that one of those inadvertantly got checked or unchecked?
the compensate for input / output delay function only affects the audio once, at the time the audio file is actually printed.


to the o.p.: you say your snare sounds "out of phase". out of phase with what?

are you mixing and matching different interfaces [with different conversion times], while tracking and / or mixing?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 04-18-2010, 09:26 PM
Ang1970 Ang1970 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 433
Default Re: MAJOR delay compensation problem! Very strange!

Have you recently upgraded any plug-ins, particularly one that may be inserted on the snare track?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-19-2010, 01:21 AM
Mt.Everest Mt.Everest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,154
Default Re: MAJOR delay compensation problem! Very strange!

I made the mistake AGAIN of not looking at the average date-of-post for most of the thread, not realizing it was an older post that was just bumped.

Anyway, does anyone have any idea if this 'random' bug is still in PT 8.0.3cs...-the latest of v8- and in PT 7.4cs10 -the latest v7- ? Ya know, the ADC compensating incorrectly, until you toggle it on and off a few times, or have disabled tracks with plugs on em...)

I have been hearing some weird phase-y things that seem to come and go on basically the same mix. Its a VERY large mix with many plugs, and many tracks that have plugs on em, but are hidden and deactivated.

I ask cuz I haven't done a mix of this size for about 3 months (where my HD3 is at its max max limit - constant DSP re-shuffling, crafty ways of voice assignments, and mix/matching TDM/RTAS, etc). And I feel like its causing ADC to act funny. The same mix sounds different without ANY changes during the same day - simply just opening it up, playing it, moving on to another session, and then going back to it again.

Its a PITA cuz I feel like I cant TRUST ADC for this mix all of a sudden. Its one thing to know of a specific, repeatable bug and stay away from it, but when I print the FINAL mixes, Im worried that particular playback might be wonky, but maybe too subtle for me to catch it until AFTER the fact, and AFTER its sent to mastering.

Ugh, ADC, when will you NOT be the cause of why I don't sleep well at night after I submit a mix on (the usual) tight deadline.... Whennnnn! Wahhh! You're making me whine like my 8 yr old nephew!
__________________
PT|HD4 Accel PCIx w Magma Chassis & 192 I/O
PT HD 9.0.5 - Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4Ghz Westmere 10.6.8
PT|HD 9.0.5 - MacMini Core-Duo, 10.6.8 - ProFire 2626
•••DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE•••
•Use & Trust ø Cancellation!•
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 04-19-2010, 06:07 PM
Crank1000 Crank1000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 164
Default Re: MAJOR delay compensation problem! Very strange!

No it's still not fixed. And likely will never be fixed. Apparently audio quality isn't at the top of Avid's priority list, nor does it "qualify for a cs update" according to DigiTechSupport.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 04-20-2010, 03:49 PM
Mt.Everest Mt.Everest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,154
Default Re: MAJOR delay compensation problem! Very strange!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crank1000 View Post
No it's still not fixed. And likely will never be fixed. Apparently audio quality isn't at the top of Avid's priority list, nor does it "qualify for a cs update" according to DigiTechSupport.
Well, I don't think its whether it qualifies or not for a cs update - I think its just a pretty massive problem to fix on the whole, as ADC is very complex in complex sessions with lots of routing.
Contrary to what a lot of people think, I believe (gotta believe!!) that Digi ::ahem:: Avid, IS working heavily on this bug and not taking it lightly or ignoring it.
Yes, its been way too long IMO, but just saying that when dealing with PT itself, plus all the 3rd party developer coding, and probably having to do a MAJOR overhaul to the core-code without f'ing up other stuff is not easy, and they won't release a half-assed fix since we all know how it goes when they release half-assed updates that haven't been fully tested.

Since ADC bugs have been around since its inception, its def a virus infecting so many versions of PT 7 and 8. But I much rather have SOMETHING handling ADC (since PT 7) than nothing. Remember how bad it was when you had to do it MANUALLY?! Now THAT was a PITA and lord knows how many times I screwed up nudging tracks or forgetting I did.

Anywayyy. Lets just hope Im right and they are hard at work on a fix.

Which they promptly wont offer to my v7.4 rig ANYWAY! ha. But the week I hear people raving about PT 8.x that is all stable and fixed and working harmoniously, is when Ill upgrade to it anyhow.

MT
__________________
PT|HD4 Accel PCIx w Magma Chassis & 192 I/O
PT HD 9.0.5 - Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4Ghz Westmere 10.6.8
PT|HD 9.0.5 - MacMini Core-Duo, 10.6.8 - ProFire 2626
•••DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE•••
•Use & Trust ø Cancellation!•
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 04-20-2010, 04:52 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: MAJOR delay compensation problem! Very strange!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mt.Everest View Post
...they promptly wont offer to my v7.4 rig ANYWAY! ha. But the week I hear people raving about PT 8.x that is all stable and fixed and working harmoniously, is when Ill upgrade to it anyhow.

MT
i'm witcha

but

i think i'd give it just a bit more than a week....stuff happens.
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 04-20-2010, 06:05 PM
Mt.Everest Mt.Everest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,154
Default Re: MAJOR delay compensation problem! Very strange!

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojimi View Post
i'm witcha

but

i think i'd give it just a bit more than a week....stuff happens.
Yeah, maybe the week where the 20 page thread about Why I hate or love PT 8.x ends up with a good 4 to 5 pages of thumbs up.

Actually Im waiting for muhis1 (starter of this thread) to be jumping up and down with joy. THATS when I upgrade. :)
__________________
PT|HD4 Accel PCIx w Magma Chassis & 192 I/O
PT HD 9.0.5 - Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4Ghz Westmere 10.6.8
PT|HD 9.0.5 - MacMini Core-Duo, 10.6.8 - ProFire 2626
•••DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE•••
•Use & Trust ø Cancellation!•
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 04-23-2010, 12:50 AM
Crank1000 Crank1000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 164
Default Re: MAJOR delay compensation problem! Very strange!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mt.Everest View Post
Well, I don't think its whether it qualifies or not for a cs update - I think its just a pretty massive problem to fix on the whole, as ADC is very complex in complex sessions with lots of routing.
Contrary to what a lot of people think, I believe (gotta believe!!) that Digi ::ahem:: Avid, IS working heavily on this bug and not taking it lightly or ignoring it.
Yes, its been way too long IMO, but just saying that when dealing with PT itself, plus all the 3rd party developer coding, and probably having to do a MAJOR overhaul to the core-code without f'ing up other stuff is not easy, and they won't release a half-assed fix since we all know how it goes when they release half-assed updates that haven't been fully tested.

Since ADC bugs have been around since its inception, its def a virus infecting so many versions of PT 7 and 8. But I much rather have SOMETHING handling ADC (since PT 7) than nothing. Remember how bad it was when you had to do it MANUALLY?! Now THAT was a PITA and lord knows how many times I screwed up nudging tracks or forgetting I did.

Anywayyy. Lets just hope Im right and they are hard at work on a fix.

Which they promptly wont offer to my v7.4 rig ANYWAY! ha. But the week I hear people raving about PT 8.x that is all stable and fixed and working harmoniously, is when Ill upgrade to it anyhow.

MT
In regards to whether it's being worked on... all I can say is I hope you're right... but I'm cautiously reserved.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 04-24-2010, 02:18 PM
doubtful guest doubtful guest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 148
Default Re: MAJOR delay compensation problem! Very strange!

please please please fix this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
major PT11 delay compensation weirdness. frozenintime macOS 18 02-18-2015 05:38 AM
Problem with delay compensation juh macOS 10 04-15-2013 06:04 PM
My problem with Pro Tools HD 7.2 delay compensation jacko Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-19-2007 12:10 PM
Strange Delay Compensation bug??? 5.1 Surround.... The Chinese Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-08-2005 09:28 PM
Strange Behavior on Long Delay Compensation rnt_u_listnng Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-18-2004 08:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com